ati drivers

Guest smithy

Guest smithy

ok i downloaded the latest ati xorg drivers for my 9800 pro. its a .rpm file, i opened it then it says "install, save, cancel' i clicked install. then it installs. i log out and log back in and i try start up enemy territory and it dosent work cause its a opengl game. (the main reason im install these drivers is so i can play it). is there something im doing wrong? can someone please tell me how to do it step by step? :)

im a linux noob (had it for 4days) so yeah i dunno much yet :P

thanks

smithy <3

[moved from Software by spinynorman]

Have a look at this recent post, there is a download from ATI that helps with it:

https://mandrivausers.org/index.php?showtop...+driver+install

In a nutshell, you should do the installation without being in X at the time. But basically,

In X, open a CLI and su and supply root password. Type init 3 to get to CLI with no X running.

Login and then su and supply root password again.

type rpm -ivh --force name_of_rpm

There may be some dependencies for this, so you will have to make sure these are installed prior to the driver. They will be noted if the install of the rpm fails.

Then after it's successful, type fglrxconfig and go through this. Check out the post though, there are some links in there and loads more info to help.

X is the GUI that you're running KDE in, etc.

It's best not to have it running when installing display drivers.

su gives you root privileges, without actually having to log on as root.

I tried the above and still can't get my ATI Radeon 9600Pro Mobility (M10) to run 3d. There are several whinning posts here from me asking for assistance. :( I have tried several "solutions" that worked for others and still no 3d. So good luck with getting the drivers to work.

BTW, I did try the ATI Installer, and the RPM. They both ran fine with no errors, but still nothing in fgl_glxgears except an error. No Direct Rendering.

WoMBaT