weird DHCP problem on 2005LE [solved]

penfield

I'm new to both Mandriva and this forum so, hi everybody.

My problem is this:

I installed Mandriva 2005LE from the mini CD...

Everything OK, until I tried to reach a package mirror, wich I couldn't.

I investigated and found the ethernet driver correctly installed, no problem there.

It seems there is no response from the DHCP server.

But I can load up Knoppix (receiving an ip addr and working smooth).

I simply do not get it, help is much appreciated...

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm pretty knew to linux so I actually don't know if I have dhcp-client or dhcp-common installed.

A little update on my situation though: I downloaded the 3 2005LE images and installed it from there, which work out just fine.

But I still have the same problem, I don't receive an ip address from the dhcp server.

Maybe it is that dhcp-client and dhcp-common thing you mentioned,how can I check it and what should I do about it?

OK, I'm assuming your in KDE. If so, click System/Configuration/Packages/Install Software

Choose the option for viewing all files, and scroll through the list to find dhcp-client and dhcp-common, or just type dhcp and search (make sure All apps/files is selected first).

If they aren't on the list, then they'll probably already be installed. One thing you could do, is configure the network card for a static IP address, then you'd be able to ensure that networking is fine.

You can do this, by clicking System/Configuration/Hardware/HardDrake. In this screen, go to the network card, and choose the configure option. You can then set an IP, subnet mask, default gateway, and DNS servers to access the network/internet. Make sure you have a hostname, but don't worry about search domain and zeroconf hostname, these aren't really needed.