Must be burnout...

burnout.pngI dunno if it's just burnout on my part or not, but I come here quite alot to help people and things are really starting to bug me. I've been using Linux for something like 3 years (since 8.1) and Linux exclusively for almost a year and a half.

I can only speak for myself, but I will use the term 'we' editorially...

We come here to help people and I would say that half the time we get no appreciation whatsoever....the user with the problem just stops posting in the thread. Did we help? Did we scare you off? I'd say that another 15% of the time, we have some user yell at us, make smartass comments to us....even if we helped. No matter how 'appreciative' you are later, because of our hard work, all we really hear is the smart ass comment.

Then there's the "why can't this be easy like Windows?" "I've never had to do that in Windows." people. This is Linux...totally different OS....gotta stop thinking like a Windows user. It's ok to say something like "I know the card works, because I dual boot and it works in Windows."

I'm not begging for appreciation myself...I've had some people that made my day sometimes and I can live with the little appreciation I feel that I have gotten...I'm thinking of the community as a whole, too. If more people burnout like I'm doing...where will the gurus be?

Here's another peeve. I happen to be one of the best 'newbie language' translators out there, but I tend not to start off with 'newbie', because people think I'm talking down to them and respond with "You think I'm f***ing stupid???" So, I wait for them to ask for clarification.