Jump to content

HOWTO Alcatel Speedtouch USB DSL modem (LONG)


aru
 Share

Recommended Posts

 

Omar Serenity

Moderator

Joined: 16 Apr 2002

Posts: 358

Location: Michigan

 

Posted: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:59 am Post subject: Alcatel Speedtouch USB DSL modem (LONG)

_________________________________________________________________

 

 

Ok....this is what you do. Ready? Guess so....heh heh.

 

Read my whole post before you actually follow any links in it

 

Go here and download the Alcatel driver:

 

Open a shell (the little TV screen looking icon at the bottom of your screen) and type this (anything you see me type inside of [ ] is just a comment or an action, you don't actually have to type that...LOL):

 

Code:

                                 su [enter]

                    [enter your root password][enter]



 

 

Make sure there is a /usr/share/speedtouch/ directory on your system. If there is not, create it with:

 

Code:

mkdir /usr/share/speedtouch [enter]



 

 

Navigate to the directory where you put the downloaded tar file you just grabbed from the download site I sent you to (I'm gonna assume you put it in /home/omar/):

 

Code:

                           cd /home/omar [enter]

                    tar -zxvf speedmgmt.tar.gz [enter]

                             cd mgmt [enter]

                  cp mgmt.o /usr/share/speedtouch[enter]



 

 

I don't care what you read on any site (even the one I'm gonna send you to), you don't need anything else...you won't have to download or run any other script/rpm. You will have to manually edit some files, though, as this suggests ( found at ):

 

Quote:

Pppd configuration

Check your pppd version by typing :

# pppd --version.

Drivers are tested with pppd 2.4.0 and 2.4.1. They also run fine with

older versions, per example pppd 2.3.11 shiped with the Potato Debian

GNU/Linux.

 

To configure pppd, you'll have to edit 4 files.

 

1st file :

You should have an /etc/ppp/options file, edit it and keep these 4

lines in it (comment all extra lines with a #)

 

------------------ /etc/ppp/options Beginning -------------

noauth

usepeerdns

lock

noipdefault

------------------ /etc/ppp/options End ------------------

 

2nd file

Create /etc/ppp/peers/adsl :

# mkdir /etc/ppp/peers

# touch /etc/ppp/peers/adsl

 

Copy and paste what follows (without the "---" Wink )

 

-------------------/etc/ppp/peers/adsl Beginning------------

#

# This file could be rename but its place is under /etc/ppp/peers

# To connect to Internet using this configuration file

# pppd call adsl, where "adsl" stands for the name of this file

#

 

debug

kdebug 1

noipdefault

defaultroute

pty "/usr/local/bin/pppoa3 -m 1 -c -vpi 8 -vci 35"

sync

user "your_login_here"

noauth

noaccomp

nopcomp

noccp

novj

holdoff 4

persist

maxfail 25

usepeerdns

------------------/etc/ppp/peers/adsl EOF------------------

 

If for an unknown reason pppoa3 failed, you can still try the old

pppoa2 daemon. You should change the pty "/usr/local/bin/pppoa3 -m 1

-c -vpi 8 -vci 35" line by pty "/usr/local/bin/pppoa2 -vpi 8 -vci 35"

For more details about pppoa2/3, type "man pppoa3, man pppoa2".

 

Don't forget to adapt the vpi and vci values in the line :

pty "/usr/local/bin/pppoa2 -vpi 8 -vci 35"

 

Note about the VCI/VPI pair [ if you are hurry go to the next section

;^) ] :

As your connection goes through ATM, 2 new parameters appear :

VPI : Virtual Path ID

VCI : Virtual Circuit ID

What are their function ?

 

That's a good question. They are used to identify your Virtual Path

Connection (VP) and your Virtual Circuit Connection (VC).

They simplify the network management, minimizing connection delays.

They allow cell commutation too.

 

An ATM network looks like this :

 

VC--------|----|-------------|----|--------

VC--------| VP | | VP |--------

VC--------|----| Transmition |----|--------

| Path |

VC--------|----| |----|--------

VC--------| VP | | VP |--------

VC--------|----|-------------|----|--------

 

3rd file :

2 protocols can be used by providers to identify their users: CHAP or

PAP.

Depending on your provider, edit /etc/ppp/chap-secrets or

/etc/ppp/pap-secrets.

 

These fields look like this :

 

-------------------/etc/ppp/chap-secrets Begining--------------

# client server secret IP addresses

"your_login_here" "*" "your_password_here" "*"

-------------------/etc/ppp/chap-secrets End-------------------

 

If you don't know what protocol is used by your provider, you can fill

in both files, it won't hurt.

 

4th file :

Edit /etc/modules.conf (or /etc/conf.modules if your system is a bit

old) and add the following lines :

 

alias char-major-108 ppp_generic

alias /dev/ppp ppp_generic

alias tty-ldisc-3 ppp_async

alias tty-ldisc-13 n_hdlc

alias tty-ldisc-14 ppp_synctty

alias ppp-compress-21 bsd_comp

alias ppp-compress-24 ppp_deflate

alias ppp-compress-26 ppp_deflate

 

Some entries are useless, but once again they won't hurt

 

 

You still have your shell open, right? And you're still logged in at the shell as root, right? Good. You're going to be editing files when they tell you. To do this, you'll have to edit them as root. The easiest way to get to them is to open konqueror as root (or galeon) and navigate to their directory and right click and select "Open with...">Applications>Editors>Advanced Editor. To open konqueror as root, in the shell type:

 

Code:

konqueror [enter]



 

 

since you're still logged in as root from what we did before.

 

In their instructions, you'll see this line in one of the files:

 

Quote:

pty "/usr/local/bin/pppoa3 -m 1 -c -vpi 8 -vci

35"

 

[/code]

 

(For some versions of Mandrake, you may have to change it to "/usr/local/sbin/pppoa3....yadayada" instead. I don't know when or if you may have to do that, but if you've tried everything else, and it doesn't work, try that.)

 

The two numbers in bold are specific to your location. If you were in America, then the combination I put there is the right one. Unfortunately I can't remember the link to the common -vpi -vci number combos for different nations, but I can try to locate that for you.

 

After you are done editing all the files, then do this in the shell:

 

Code:

modem_run -m -f /usr/share/speedtouch/mgmt.o [enter]

      [wait for the modem to initialize and give you back a prompt]

                          pppd call adsl [enter]

           [wait a few seconds to make sure you are connected]

                             ifconfig [enter]



 

 

You should see a ppp0 interface with a real IP as well as a lo with 127.0.0.1 If you don't see the ppp0 interface, then first edit the files that have your username and password and if you put the @yourisp.com in there, take it off and try again. If you didn't put the @yourisp.com, put it in there and try again. Some providers want the whole email address and some don't.

 

Specifically for Mdk 8.2 and possibly 9.0

Do not under any circumstances run any of Mandrake's internet configuration tools to set up your account or it will break all the manual edits you did and you will have to go fix them.

 

I hope this helps.

Last edited by Omar Serenity on Fri Nov 08, 2002 7:02 am, edited 3

times in total

 

 

highwayman

Newbie

Joined: 16 Dec 2002

Posts: 1

Posted: Mon Dec 16, 2002 6:28 pm Post subject: Mutex destroy failure

_________________________________________________________________

 

 

Thanks to your thread on setting up the speedtouch usb modem, i eventually got connected using the new Mandrake 9.0 distro.

 

I configured it so that the internet connection would start on boot. After i got connected, i installed quiet a few packages from Mandrake and set up the shorewall firewall. I installed one or two other programs and everything worked perfectly. Email was coming and going and surfing was no problem.

 

When i booted back to windows for other things, on returning to Mandrake, i saw the modem go through its series of flashing lights and then the two stable green ones.

 

I opened up a shell and typed ifconfig and saw both entries as should be. But impossible to surf the net with KDE, or received email. Nothing would work, so i must have been unconnected but ifconfig says otherwise.

 

Shortly after, in the shell i get the following message:

 

Mutex destroy failure: Device or resource busy

deinit: Fatal IO error: client killed

deinit: sending SIGHUP to children

deinit:sending SIGTERM to children

deinit: Exit

 

Following the post above, i did not configue any internet connection using the Mandrake Control. At a complete loss as to what i should do now. Any feedback on this would be much appreciated.

 

Many thanks Crying or Very sad

 

 

Omar Serenity

Moderator

Joined: 16 Apr 2002

Posts: 358

Location: Michigan

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:45 am Post subject:

_________________________________________________________________

 

 

Mutex has nothing to do with Speedtouch or any of that other stuff as

far as I know. It just sounds like your DNS servers are wrong. Can you type in an IP to a site and get there?

 

Make sure /etc/resolv.conf has the right DNS servers for your ISP.

 

 

 

Editor's note: This thread was originally posted at the old MUB (Mandrake User Board at club-nihil). This post is the result of a 99% automatic backup, so due to its nature some text may be lost (improbable but possible).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...