Getting Ready...

Guest Tabularosa

Guest Tabularosa

to install Mandrake 10.1 Official onto my dell 700m. This is my first foray into the world of Linux and I am very excited.

Couple of questions:

I really want to ditch XP and just use 10.1 as my only os so I don't have to deal with dual booting. Would you guys not recommend this?

I don't have a wireless network but getting the intel pro 2100 to work is vital to me as I use it to hook up to the network at school and coffee shops etc. I hear that 10.1 is probably the most notebook friendly but I just need to know that I can get the wireless set up even though I am a noob. So will there be major obstacles to this?

At home I connect to the internet via my ethernet port and dsl. Will that be a problem?

I have dabbled with SimplyMepis and Xandros but neither could detect my dsl modem. Knoppix did but I figure if I am going to install onto the hdd Mandrake would be my best bet. Sorry so long, and I hope you guys can help a fist time Linux user out. Thanks :D

Edited by Tabularosa

If this is your only computer and you know next to little about Linux I wouldn't recommend doing away with XP just yet.

Linux is different from MS and it takes a while for you to get used to it. (read different, not more difficult. In fact I find it easier :) ) All the quick shortcuts/tricks you use in XP you will have to learn again for Linux/Mandrake. It will take some time for you to feel comfartable with Mandrake. After that you get more (because everything just works and doesn't crash and does what you want) work done with your PC as with XP.

Anyway, internet connection should not be a problem. Mandrake should automaitcally configure it for you (during the install).

Have fun.

as long as you do not try to connect to the net with a ethernet-router-connection, you won't have lots of problems. i got it installed at once on an nvidia-gfx-based lappy and everything worked very well, even the ac97 sound was painless. :)