New To Linux

pixiestix1103

hey guys,

i need some help. i am about to make the transition from windows to linux, and to tell you the truth, i am pretty frustrated. for the past year, i have attempted to do tons of research on open source software; how it works, what is different about it- basically everything, and now that i have actually bought mandrakelinux, i still feel like i am not ready. i am computer savvy somewhat, but linux is bugging me out. i dont understand most of the terminology on the websites that i have been looking at for information and tutorials. i just dont know where to look. i dont just want a manual, i want something that will explain to me what is really going on. this is my first year of college, and i am majoring in computer science, but we havent even began to touch on programming languages or anything even close to some of the stuff that i am reading on these websites. if anyone could give me links, or recomendations for books, or anything, it would be greatly appreciated. with most of the websites i have looked at, users are very secretive with their information, and will not give help to a newbie like me. i am a wannabe, and no one has the time... i have had a recommendation for this site, so any info is appreciated... thanks and feel free to IM or email...

pixiestix1103@yahoo.com

pixiestix1103 on yahoo messenger

Jessica - 19 - Georgia

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The easiest thing would be to install that copy of mandrake and ask in here when specific problems crops up - I'm sure you'll be fine, i don't feel that linux is a scary operating system any more if you're using something like mandrake.

You definitely don't need to know anything about programming - its mainly clicking on the right button, just like windows.

good luck,

fissy