10.1 community and nvidia 6111 driver

spunky424

i've read post after post trying to install the nvidia driver on 10.1...first i upgraded the kernel-source but which one do i pick? there are 5 different choices..this is coming off a fresh install of 10.1 community..

on to the next question..everytime i pick a kernel-source then try to install the nvidia driver it says something about wrong ncompatible kernel-source or something of that sort. it still compiles and runs saying it created its own kernel but when i change nvidia and glx in the xorg.conf file , then use init 5 to come back into kde it wont start up.... only way back is to change glx and nvidia back to normal...can anyone help me?

i'm a newb and jus started mandrakelinux 10.1 like last weekend..

:thanks:

Mandrake use urpmi to install software (see the FAQs of this board). It takes care of any dependencies. So if you have installed Mandrake with a particular kernel and want to install the kernel-source all you have to do is give (as root) in a console: urpmi kernel-source and the correct source will be installed.

The nvidia installer doen't build it's own kernel, it builds a 'slot' unto the kernel to wich it binds (locks) the driver (sort off). But you can just ignore this.

The lock-ups probably occure because the driver isn't installed correctly. Just do nvidia-installer --uninstall (in runlevel 3 (the terminal screen)), install the correct kernel-source and try again.

Good luck.

PS I thought Mandrake 10.1 came with the kernel-source installed?

when i type in urpmie kernel-source this is wut i get:

One of the following packages is needed:

1- kernel-multimedia-source-2.6.7-1.mm.6mdk.i586 : The source code for the Linux kernel. (to install)

2- kernel-tmb-source-2.6.7-2.tmb.6mdk.i586 : The source code for the Linux kernel. (to install)

3- kernel24-tmb-source-2.4.26-1.tmb.2mdk.i586 : The source code for the Linux kernel. (to install)