No sound need help im new to linux as well

jspurrier

I have no sound on my linux machine and i need help. I have windows HDD and Linux HDD and i know that sound is working properly on windows but i cannot get it to work for linux. I have a fresh install of Mandrake 10.0 the free version Im not totally sure what sound card i have in my computer but i know its a sound blaster and it autodetected a emu10k. I would guess its a 32 or 64 live its and older card from i would say 99 but then again im not sure exactly. Ive gone into Kmix and turned the volume all the way up but i still cant hear anything. I have gone into alsamix as well and checked the volume but it looked like it was all the way up. I went through the list and everything is unmuted. I havent tired alsaconf yet but before i try anything else I want to get some help so if anyone knows what to try to solve this problem it would be greatly appreciated. Im new to linux so it would be helpful if you would explain so i can understand Thank you

how do i check or access MCC im pretty new to linux like i said so MCC sounds greek to me. Is it a command line command or do i get there from the desktop... Im running KDE as my desktop. Thank you. O BTW i dont know if this will change anything but i do see alsa loading in the startup process and it starts too i dont get any failures... Thank you again

Guest selimb

Hi..

- to obtein the module an the sound card:

lspcidrake -v |fgrep AUDIO

- to see if the services sound are configured:

/sbin/chconfig/ --list sound

or:

/sbin/chconfig/ --list alsa

and:

grep sound-slot /etc/modules.conf

- to see if the volume is muted /unmuted:

aumix -q

- to see if malicius prog is using the sound:

/sbin/fuser -v /dev/dsp

- of course:

install alsa-1.06 from http://www.alsa-project.org/

Regards

selim,b.

Hi..

- to obtein the module an the sound card:

lspcidrake -v |fgrep AUDIO

- to  see if the services sound are configured:

/sbin/chconfig/ --list sound

or: