What program?

I am looking for a program that can run windows programs, and/or games. I know for winex it is not free. I am mainly looking for a free program that will allow me to run windows programs directly in linux, or a program that can boot my windows drive and provide a window that is actually running a windows desktop.

i am new to all of this, so i dont even no the difference between or even what an emulator is, or a program that is totally linux.

-thanks for the help!!

ok well i wanted to run itunes, for my ipod, and to organize my music

and "Command and Conquer Red Alert 2"; "Command and Conquer Red Alert "; "Command and Conquer "; "Command and Conquer Tiberian Sun"

these are all windows games, i know it would be easier to use winex, but i don not want to and cannot pay

then there are several Astronomy programs that i would like to run, e.g. CCDOPS, MaxIM DL, The Sky software, Meade Auto Star Suite for LX200GPS

and that there about covers it.... i do have windows already (several versions infact) so it would not be a problem if one of the solutions you provide requires windows to be installed, i also have ample harddrive space to install multiple copies of any opperating system, so space is also not an issue

As for the ipod, you might do a search on google for ipod and linux. There may be native software allready to get the job done.

For your cames, you realy only have three choices in my not so humble opinion, and i know this is the case from a lot of experience struggleing with windows games in linux.