How to compile kernel 2.4.20 rpm

Guest 969696

I'm a linux newbie. I thought that compiling a new kernel was useless for me...but since i have a 2.4Ghz Pentium IV, i need the new kernel. I can't enable DMA with kernel provided with Mdk 9.0 drives performances are very low.

I found a mandrake rpm but i don't know how to use it. The rpm was found at ftp://ftp.club-internet.fr/pub/unix/linux...e-devel/cooker/

Should i install the source, then use the following tutorial http://mdkxp.by-a.com/htm/tutorials/mdkkernel.php

Thanks

First see if you can enable dma in your bios set up.

You can also use hdparm to check, alter dma . hdparm is on your cds, search on software manager, or urpmi hdparm from a term, as su .

Here a link for using hdparm http://linux.oreillynet.com/pub/a/linux/20.../29/hdparm.html

If that all fails, then try the tutorial to compile your own kernel. Unless you really know what your doing, don't d-load a cooker kernel. Go to a mdk mirror and down load the source kernel for your installed running kernel ( 2.4.16 i think ) then follow the http://mdkxp.by-a.com/htm/tutorials/mdkkernel.php

tutorial.

I installed hdparm and that's how i found out my drive problems.

/dev/hdb:

Timing buffered disk reads: 64 MB in 23.41 seconds = 3.07 MB/sec

I then found this on intel website

http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/linux/udma.htm

Then i read that in fact the new kernel 2_4_20 could be the answer, and that it could increase my drive.

Why is it 'dangerous' to use a cooker kernel ?

thanks