10.0 CE install nightmare

Christoff

Hello world of Linux from another total newbie...

I've been meaning for some time to have a good fiddle with Linux to see what all the fuss is about. I got Knoppix & fiddled a bit & now got a Mandrake 10.0 DVD from a magazine. I'm extremely keen to get it all running and start my new learning curve but I'm having problems that you may be able to help with.

System - Dell Inspiron 5800, 256Mb RAM, 30GB HDD, NVidia GeForce4 Go 64Mb, Pentium 4 2.0GHz M.

First prob was partitioning the drive as I wanted to keep the WinXP there for now(sorry!) but managed to eventually create a 7.5Gb space (should that be enough?).

Installation looks fine up until the 'summary' where you can configure the un-configured bits. If I try to set up the Graphical Interface to my card I get a sample screen that's too narrow. If I choose the 'no it's no good' option the screen goes haywire & although I'm sure there's still things going on you can't see anything other than lines & garbage - and I did wait a while... If I choose not to configure it, it tells me I've not configured 'X' do I really want it? Tried yes & no but still probs further down the line.

Then I wanted to set up my network card (Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller) but my puny knowledge was highlighted when I seemed to get stuck in a loop of choosing a card, auto-detecting then choosing a card again.