One more help, please...

william

One year has gone since I've started using linux on a laptop and nowadays with a desktop I'm still facing and fighting in order to make my external (USB) Extigy Sound Blaster to work in a stable way, actually up till now I'm not able to understand quite well the hardware issues in linux, as a mature newbie, I think I have to be a little more focused on it, in order to avoid this sort of thread that we can see at least hundreds of them. (no sound, sound problem, aumix not working, sndconfig doesn't detect my..., bla bla bla...).

When I said that my external soudcard doesn't work in a stable way, I meant that with some applications it works while with some others apps it doesn't, so I shoud have something working wrongly here.

I've already tried exaudio and alsa, but with the same sort of result and not being confident of what I was doing, so that's the reason for posting this thread.

In order to give you a better idea of my problem, here go some information and outputs:

1 ) Applications that the sound seems to work properly:(at least I have sound with some good quality, despite of maybe not being optimizing all the soundcard's resources)

a ) Mplayer -  using alsa plugin 
b ) XMMS - using alsa plugin 
c ) Tux Racer - maybe using alsa - don't know how to check that

2 ) Applications that the sound doesn't work at all:

a ) Totem  
b ) xine - open /dev/dsp/: no such file or directory 
c ) UT2004 - my new acquisition - open /dev/dsp/: no such file or directory 
d ) kino - open /dev/dsp/: no such file or directory

3 ) System outputs:

3.1) Part of proc/pci output. Notice that despite of disabling my on board soundcard in the BIOS it's still being recognised

a ) [root@poseidon william]# cat /proc/pci 
Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 1). 
IRQ 17. 
I/O at 0x1400 [0x14ff]. 
I/O at 0x1800 [0x183f]. 
Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0x20000400 [0x200005ff].