What desktop to choice

NecroScumBag

Since most of you know. I am new to linux. Well I have already installed and have MDK 9.2 working on my system. But after read through the forum to get a grip on everything in the new world. I was wondering which is better KDE or Gnome. First question I have is. Is there better programs for one then the other. Or is there better support or help need for one or the other. I was reading through the Art and Design forum and see what people post for there screen shoots for the desktop! WOW, Now this is something I want to do. But some people running KDE. Gnome or something call flux. Thanks in advance for replaying.

Necro

My personal opinion: Neither. Window Maker or IceWM...IceWM is better if you like the taskbar thingy on the bottom of the screen...I like Window Maker best myself...it takes some getting used to though...but I guess when you can't run anything else because your comp is a 4 year old POS, you get used to it quick :P

If you wanna use either KDE or Gnome, go for Gnome...As far as I know, programs will work with either...but if they don't for some reason, you can always switch for that prog...Like me...I log into Window Maker, but if I need a prog and don't know the name of it, or if there even is a prog for that, I go to IceWM for the menu...then switch back when I'm done

Edited by Urza9814

Use both...use all...find out what you like. Gtk apps work in KDE, qt apps work in Gnome, apps....well, work. De/wm doesn't matter. Better? There's is no right or wrong answer.....which is better Ford or Chevy? Well, Chevy of course...OH! , I mean it's up to the individual to decide. Most of all, have fun finding out for yourself!

[edited for spelling :woops: ]

Edited by bvc

kde is a sort of "windows" familiar desktop, as is gnome. If you start with one of those, you can graduate to a desktop that is sort of like making your own program, like any of the *box environments!