internet klub server

T1TAN

hi everyone,

here is the story... i've been working my em.. ash off to get this started: i'm working (well, as a volunteer) in an internet club. after two years of working with that-other-OS :tm: , they've decided to take my advice and go linux with the server. bad sentence.

anyways, the real problem is that i'm a linux newbie myself, and now i have to configure it to be a "server". what we want it to do is to connect to the internet (ISDN), share that connection with 7 other-OS machines (that-other-OS-XP-Pro :tm: ), and to be stable and secure (firewalls and stuff...). also it would be nice to have a partition or two shared with the client PCs, for misc stuff.

now, what i'm asking here is for some instructions, which tools to use, what settings need to be set & where, etc.. i am a complete newbie, by i'm ready to learn so please help...

oh, yeah, the system is MDK9.2 (download ed.) btw. i can't believe how good it is! the difference between 8.2 and 9.2 is amazing!

thanx!

well it is so easy. install 2 nic card's enable internet connection sharing. and then wola.. don't forget to turn on the firewall though.. But seriously If it were me. i would use mandrake mnf/snf

Mandrake firewall then build a server .. dont let the server be the firewall also.... just a word of advice..

Jason..

Install 9.2MDK make sure iptables is on

I would add squid to the server as it will speed up pages that are constantly being used.

Adding smoothwall will also make it quicker then the standard firewall package and more secure

Smoothwall site has a setup configs right on there site for a 2 card system and good writeups

You should use a 3 card if you run a web server or ftp server at the site

Up and running in about 1- 2 hours

hope this might help

Wow, someone replied... :o :lol: