HP Proliant with smart array P212

Guest defa

Dear all,

I am new to linux however I have been using few mandriva distributions. Now we bough HP Proliant ML110 G6 in the company and I can not install on it Mandriva Spring 2010 64 bit version.

Installation is ok but after restart I got messages that can not find disk device. The problem is the same as described on this page:

http://old.nabble.com/-Bug-44463--mkinitrd,-ASSIGNED:-mkinitrd-does-not-load-cciss-driver-on-HP-ProLiant-servers-p19790926.html

but I do not know how to resolve it. If I remove smart array I can install Mandriva Spring 2001 without problems but I need smart array for raid 0.

After boot I get the following problem:

waiting for device cciss!c0d0p1 to appear (timeount 1min)

waiting for device cciss!c0d0p5 to appear (timeount 1min)

Could not find resume device (/dev/cciss/c0d0o5)

Could not resolve resume device (/dev/cciss/c0d0o5)

Creating root device.

Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Pid: 1, comm: init Not tainted 2.6.33.5-server-2mnb #1

The device are definitely there because I can see them and I can also mount them. I have also went through grub device.map and menu.lst and did not find any problems.

Is it possible that this problem is related to kernel because I am trying to install desktop version of mandriva on server?

Please help!

Edited by defa

It's definitely not that you are installing the desktop version as there's not really a desktop version as such. You have a server kernel installed as shown by your post above 2.6.33.5-server-2mnb so it has installed the appropriate kernel.