Installng kernal source?

I am getting really confused with this kernal thing. I go to the package installer thing in the Mandrake Control Center and I search for 2.4.22 (because thats the kernal version as far as I know) so then it returns a bunch of packages, ive installed two but everyone I install can no longer be found in the package installer search and I searched the root directory for both "2.4.22" and "Kernal" and it cant find either of the ones I installed. Any ideas?

You need kernel-source-2.4.blahblah

Of course you already have kernel-2.4.blahblah installed or you wouldn't be in Linux. :)

While searching, make sure it exactly matches the number in the output of

uname -r

including the 'mdk' but not 'smp' or 'i686-up', etc if you have one of those installed.

Edited by Steve Scrimpshire

I am a complete Newbie can you guys please try to put things into "idiot terms" and explain so I actually learn somthing. I am basicly trying to install my ethernet card drivers and I was told that I would have to "patch the kernel" or somthing on those lines. Can someone tell me what they would do if they were just starting off and had a fresh install of linux?

-Neocytrix

Okay, let's start again ;)

Basically, the files you installed are the various different kernel binaries (the executable programs) that come with Mandrake. There are a few different types and it appears that you installed them all. That's okay, it shouldn't matter. What you really wanted to do was install the kernel source RPM for the kernel you are actually using. A source RPM contains the source code that was originally compiled to produce the executable that you are running. It's my guess that you need to make some changes to the source code (by patching it) and then re-compile it to produce a kernel that works with your driver. Please ask if there is something you would like us to clarify.

Go to the following web site:

ftp://klobouk.fsv.cvut.cz/pub/linux-mandr...6/Mandrake/RPMS