SCSI Emulation

yorneB

Hi everyone

I have mandrake 9.2 installed and the latest K3b (10.1.3 i think)

I have a LG-DVD Rom 8160 and a MSI Dragon writer CR48-A

Last night i tried burning a CD (music) and i got this message

"No support for ATAPI with cdrdao

You will not be able to use all your reading devices as copy sources since there is at least one not configured to use SCSI emulation and your system does not support ATAPI with cdrdao.

Solution: The best and recommended solution is to enable ide-scsi (SCSI

emulation) for all devices. This way you won't have any problems."

How do i enable this? Be gentle i'm new to this.

Good day

if you're using LILO, then do the following.

open lilo.conf with a text editor of your choice. it's in /etc/lilo.conf.

edit or add the following line under the "append" section

append="devfs=mount hdX=ide-scsi hdX=ide-scsi acpi=off"

(where the hdX should be the letter of YOUR corresponding cd drives.)

save the file.

after you edit lilo.conf, go to terminal, su to root, then type:

lilo -v

hit enter, then reboot for the changes to take effect.

if you're using GRUB, then i'm not sure about the exact editing info & somebody else could probably help ya with that.

Chris

Not being overly familiar with this, could you break it down so us dullards can understand? So, I go to Kate or one of any editors and ....? Help me out. I too got the same error message when I added a stand-alone burner. Not only that but my internal CD would not play CDs. I finally had to disconnect my UBS burner in order to use the CD. Sure would like to have both. Thanks.

smartjak.........

i'll break it down as best i can.......

lilo is your bootloader. lilo.conf is simply a text file for lilo, listing the choices you have to boot your computer (ie: boot into windows, linux, failsafe mode, etc) & that also contains some info as to what to load when booting into one of those choices (ie: where the kernel is, which kernel, where your drives are, etc.).