Help getting started with Mandriva & Programming

Guest Alek

Hey guys,

My name is Alek and I am just getting started with Mandrake. I literally installed it two hours ago. I'm still in high school and looking over some of the things I'm going to be doing in college(I plan on graduating with a bachelor or master's in CS), I decided to take on a new challenge and learn to program like a pro. I've always though that the whole idea of open source has been great. I've been using linux for the past two years, however because of the fact that I design websites, I cannot stay away for too long from my photoshop. So I've played around with openSUSE and Ubuntu, however I've never experienced Mandrake and let me tell you - it's friggin awesome! I really like it, I enjoy playing around with it. Other than that, I read in a blog post that this is probably the best linux distro out there for programmers and coders. I have never done any python whatsoever, but I have done Java since I took a college course over the summer. Any other experience that I've had is predominately PHP and Javascript(I'm a Wordpress designer).

Enough history, let's get to the point. I would like somebody, doesn't necessarily mean that only one of you have to give me all the answers - you can all contribute with a piece, to walk me through installing Python on Mandrake. This request might seem pretty weird, but I was simply incapable of doing it myself. I looked at the software from the provided repos and ... I think I installed it, but I guess not. Then I actually got on python.org and downloaded it. "Made" the install from the source found in the .tgz archive. But then again, I don't even know how to run it. So I'm pretty sure I got it installed but I can't run it. So a bit of help would be greatly appreciated.

Something that really interested me was the capability of Konsole, or the terminal, to turn into a Python runtime. I guess it's concatenated to the linux kernel. All you have to do is type