MandrivaUsers.org : Artwiz fonts - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Artwiz fonts

#1 User is offline   william 

  • The Brave
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: 11-May 03

Posted 11 September 2003 - 01:55 AM

Sorry if not in the right forum....
I have been trying to get artwiz fonts to work , recently. But without success, even after doing a forum / google search. Previewing some possible questions (if a got a help..) here goes what I did:

Quote

in terminal:
1 ) Uncompressed the bz2 file to /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ directory
    cd artwiz-aleczapka
    mkfontdir
    chkfontpath -q -a /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/artwiz-aleczapka:unscaled
    and restarted the font server...;
2 ) Checked if the fonts were there in the /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/artwiz-aleczapka directory (for sure they were there represented by 17 .pcf files);
3 ) Changed permissionss, typing;
chmod a+x /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/artwiz-aleczapka 
4 ) Opened mcc and gedit to check if the fonts were there available (it werent);
5 ) Included in .xintrc the following lines: ( marks in keybord  have just vanished) 
export LC=C
export LC_ALL=C
and artwiz fonts are still not available in mcc and for general system use .

Do I miss something? Any help (as always) will be very much appreciated.
william

Posted Image
"This is the very perfection of a man, to find out his own imperfections."
~ Saint Augustine ~
0

#2 User is offline   tyme 

  • Serial Slacker
  • View blog
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 13,309
  • Joined: 24-October 02

Posted 11 September 2003 - 02:06 AM

have you tried these: http://fluxbox.sourc...leczapka/README

the fc-cache part is very important.
0

#3 User is offline   william 

  • The Brave
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: 11-May 03

Posted 11 September 2003 - 02:33 AM

Hi tyme: :cheeky:/>
the hell!!! it worked with that command.

Quote

fc-cache -fv ./

william

Posted Image
"This is the very perfection of a man, to find out his own imperfections."
~ Saint Augustine ~
0

#4 User is offline   william 

  • The Brave
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 370
  • Joined: 11-May 03

Posted 11 September 2003 - 03:54 AM

tyme, as I told you I didn't get a sytem wide install here, despite getting it to work with flux after editing my style file.

Does anyone here have any clue?

What I mean is to have gnome apps running under fluxbox and loading artwiz fonts.
william

Posted Image
"This is the very perfection of a man, to find out his own imperfections."
~ Saint Augustine ~
0

#5

  • Group: Guests

Posted 13 September 2003 - 09:53 PM

After learning and trying to get a little more familiar with GTK issues, finally I could figure out what was really going on here.
I had already an artwiz system wide installation here when I posted the question above. Actually, my problem (due to my ignorance) was related to Gtk 1 and 2 applications, I was not getting any sort of fonts working with gnome and kde applications other than sans.
As soon as I got gtk-theme-switch 1 and 2 installed I've been able to have all applications (rox filer, gain, evolution, gedit...) running with the font and theme I set on the fly.
Sorry for my stupidity and senseless questions guys. :oops:/>
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users