Temp directory out of disk space

Guest MistyWindow

Guest MistyWindow

This happened on a Mandriva Free 2009 desktop installation a few days ago. Now the exact same fault has happened on a Mandriva Powerpack 2009 installation on my laptop.

After logging in I get this message:

The following installation problem was detected when trying to start KDE:

Temp directory (/tmp) is out of disk space.

KDE is unable to start

Then:

Could not start ksmserver. Check your installation

Both installations were on a dedicated HDD with PLENTY of disk space.

I'm a newbie. I've been using Ubuntu for a couple of months but much prefer Mandriva, particularly after paying for it. :huh:

If I reinstall and set up a separate /tmp partition is that likely to help?

Help would be much appreciated.

Guest MistyWindow
It could be draksnapshot. It could be log files in /var/log.

A bit of searching seems to point to that as a distinct possibility and the bug's been around for a while. If it's happened to me on 2 installations from 2 different install disks it must be a common problem.

1. I presume that when I reinstall I can uncheck draksnapshot during the installation?
  2. Is there a limit on the size of the /tmp file?
  3. If so can that limit be changed?
  4. Would it be prudent to create a /tmp partition during installation? Would that help and if so what size should it be?

It may be worth your while finding out if it is the size of your log files in /var/log. Draksnapshot requires configuring I do believe, so shouldn't run unless you set it that way.

If you have very large 'syslog' or 'messages' log files you could do with rectifying the cause.