Mandrake Login Screen.. drivin' me nuts.

Guest supated

Guest supated

Hey all,

Another Linux newbie here, installed it just today infact. Anyways, one thing that's annoying the heck out of me is the fact that I cant seem to login as root. It gets a bit frustrating having to use the su command all the time when I'm trying to configure files, etc.

What I'd like to know, is if there is any way to make that default Mandrake login screen (on Mandrake 9.1) display the "root" account aswell, instead of only my user account. And if it cant be configured to do this, how can I login as root and run Xwindows aswell (i tried switching to another screen, logging in as root and typing "startx" but to no avail).

Thanks in advance for your help.

-Will

You must NEVER EVER log in as root! And if you are going to log in as root for whatever reason, you must NEVER EVER EVER run X as root.

The su method is how it is supposed to be. There are many good reasons why you should never log in as root, I am not going to list them here.

Just take my word for it and you'll see that everyone on this forum who knows what they are talking about will say the same thing. You'll get used to suing, it's not so bad, and you only need to do it when you make important changes.

While agree with the others (don't login as root), its still your decision. I think you can set which users appear in KDE Control Centre. You'll have to start it using the kdesu command.

Its far better in my opinion run individual commands as root, using somehting like kdesu.

I third that from Paul.

:)

Please, invest some time to unlearn some bad habits from others systems and learn the ways of your new system.

If you wanted Windows you could have stayed with windows. You didn't, indicating you are open to new things.

Please be open to the way things are done in linux. They are done like that for a good reason in many cases. Especially in the use of the system.