Remaster question

Guest akovia

Hi,

I am new to MCNLive and though I love it out of the box I still would like to make some changes. The problem I am seeing is after I remove a package, it is actually making the image larger. I am using the package manager to configure the packages and if I select a package, it shows the size of the files down at the bottom.

Selected: 0B / Free Disk Space: 600MB

So when I select say Filezilla. it shows "Selected: 11MB" and drops the disk space by 11MB. But if I select a package to remove, I get the exact same thing and instead of freeing up disk space, removing packages actually USES disk space. So no matter if I add or remove packages, it eats up space.

Another thing I noticed is that after I remove a package, I can still launch it from the menu. I wanted to remove all Koffice programs and add OOO instead. It went through the motions of removing everything but I noticed the icons were still listed in the main menu. Of course my curious nature got the best of me so I tried it and Boom!, Kword opened without a hitch even after I removed it.

So I was just wondering if these were just anomalies since everything is in RAM atm and will be fixed once I start the remaster process, or am I doing something wrong? Any guidance would be most appreciated.

Many Thanks,

Akovia

a few things

#1 I went through the same thing for a LONG time w/ MCNL as far as removing packages.

Once you remove packages you need to clear out ALL your temps and REMASTER. That should take care of a few things, including the fact that youre ICONS are still there and you can still run them. Also it's been my experience that you REALLY need to remove a LOT of stuff and then remaster in order to affect the size of the image.

I was using mine as a desktop install and remastering to DVD and saw my image go from 2.1GB to almost 3.9 in a heartbeat, but getting it below 3.1 GB was almost impossible.