MandrivaUsers.org : New smart GUI - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

New smart GUI

#1 User is offline   linux_learner 

  • always the student
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 04 August 2007 - 01:15 PM

Jop and I have been working on a new design for the smart gui. If you have ideas, or suggestions, now is your time to get involved. I am tracking it on my forum. I have, for convenience post a screen shot and the glade file. This way, those of you who want to more actively participate, can, and those of you who just want to look and comment, can also do so. This way, no body is left out. http://thecompletecomputerresource.com/for...x.php?topic=137

Later on, I may make a video tutorial/presentation.

You can make your suggestions or ideas here in this thread, or on my forum.


I'm getting some good feedback here http://lists.labix.org/pipermail/smart-lab...ugust/date.html

What do y'all say?


You can also follow along http://downloads.thecompletecomputerresour...rt/smart%20gui/ Where I have the glade file and the screenies ;)/>
0

#2 User is offline   dexter11 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Joined: 25-March 05

Posted 04 August 2007 - 02:02 PM

I don't want to register to yet another forum so I write it here.
I assume this is the latest pic.
The icon bar shouldn't be on the packages tab. It should be above the tab under the menu bar. Besides it should be smaller.
What's that combo box left of the package list?
Put back the radio buttons for the search. Can we search for filenames in the future versions?
You should make the design for the other two tabs too.
I guess that's all for now.
Posted Image
0

#3 User is offline   linux_learner 

  • always the student
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 04 August 2007 - 02:08 PM

The icon bar is actually above the packages tab ;)/> See this screenie to help http://downloads.thecompletecomputerresour...i_channels2.jpg

I haven't done the configue tab yet, cause that involves a lot more work, but it's coming. I will implement all the search features with the completion of this gui.

I guess your saying you need more screenies.
0

#4 User is offline   ffi 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,544
  • Joined: 05-February 06

Posted 04 August 2007 - 03:16 PM

Make it look a bit more like Synaptic and change the view items from hide XXX to show XXX
"Of liberty I would say that, in the whole plenitude of its extent, it is unobstructed action according to our will. But rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual."
Thomas Jefferson
0

#5 User is offline   {BBI}Nexus{BBI} 

  • MUB Addict
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 652
  • Joined: 05-February 05

Posted 04 August 2007 - 05:48 PM

This is not gui related but, when using the KsmartTray widget can you add a function, whereby the user can specify how frequently repo's are polled for updates?
Need help setting up your Mandriva sources?

go here: easyURPMI
or here: smartURPMI

Commandline admin too cumbersome? Try Webmin:

Know what VMware is? Virtualbox: Open Source equivalent.


GNU/Linux Powered <-> Firefox Driven <-> Thunderbird Enhanced

The less we know, The more we fear..... <> MY F@vor|t3 0p3r@TYNg sYZ7Em 15 LY|\|Ux458052
0

#6 User is offline   dexter11 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Joined: 25-March 05

Posted 04 August 2007 - 09:32 PM

View Postlinux_learner, on Aug 4 2007, 04:08 PM, said:

The icon bar is actually above the packages tab ;)/> See this screenie to help http://downloads.thecompletecomputerresour...i_channels2.jpg

I haven't done the configue tab yet, cause that involves a lot more work, but it's coming. I will implement all the search features with the completion of this gui.

I guess your saying you need more screenies.

No I meant the icon (or quicklaunch bar) shouldn't be on the "Packages" tab. If you click on the "Channel" tab you can't see it. It's only visible when you click on the "Packages" tab. At least on the screenie I linked it's there. It should be under the menu bar and above the tabs (between them) like it is on virtually every application. Just take a look at your browser now for example. And it's too big for my liking.
What's that combo box?
Posted Image
0

#7 User is offline   linux_learner 

  • always the student
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 04 August 2007 - 10:30 PM

View Post{BBI}Nexus{BBI}, on Aug 4 2007, 10:48 AM, said:

This is not gui related but, when using the KsmartTray widget can you add a function, whereby the user can specify how frequently repo's are polled for updates?



The code of ksmarttray would have to be changed. It is not my goal to work on ksmarttray.
0

#8 User is offline   linux_learner 

  • always the student
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 04 August 2007 - 10:33 PM

View Postdexter11, on Aug 4 2007, 02:32 PM, said:

No I meant the icon (or quicklaunch bar) shouldn't be on the "Packages" tab. If you click on the "Channel" tab you can't see it. It's only visible when you click on the "Packages" tab. At least on the screenie I linked it's there. It should be under the menu bar and above the tabs (between them) like it is on virtually every application. Just take a look at your browser now for example. And it's too big for my liking.
What's that combo box?

OK, I'll work on that. I hadn't realized it before. I may also make the icons a bit smaller.
0

#9 User is offline   linux_learner 

  • always the student
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 05 August 2007 - 02:29 AM

I did make some of the changes you suggested. http://downloads.thecompletecomputerresour...screen%20shots/

These are current screenies.
0

#10 User is offline   iphitus 

  • Arch Linux Developer, Rocket Scientist
  • View blog
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3,869
  • Joined: 16-April 03

Posted 05 August 2007 - 11:00 AM

thecompletecomputerresource or thelongesturliveseenforalongtime.com? :P/>

Follow the gnome hig. Don't follow everything exactly if you don't want, but it's got plenty of smart suggestions on how to construct UI's and keep them consistent.

http://developer.gno...ojects/gup/hig/

what sticks out to me in the screenies:
* no spacing whatsoever. cramped!
* Icons go on buttons, not menu items. What's that find thing on the menu? Make it a button and move it to the toolbar.
* Usually toolbar buttons have larger icons
* Use GTK stock icons only.
* Buttons on tabs??

And the other thing. it's fun to plan the UI, but it's even better to write the code. Before you've even designed the UI you know how the program's going to work and what many of the routines will be. I've seen lots of projects dead in the water, and they've only ever designed the UI.

James
0

#11 User is offline   linux_learner 

  • always the student
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 05 August 2007 - 12:19 PM

View Postiphitus, on Aug 5 2007, 04:00 AM, said:

And the other thing. it's fun to plan the UI, but it's even better to write the code. Before you've even designed the UI you know how the program's going to work and what many of the routines will be. I've seen lots of projects dead in the water, and they've only ever designed the UI.

Yeah, I know. I've been with the smart developer for like a year now. I wrote the documentation for smart. Been studying python and rpm. So yep, I know.

I have also updated the gui, so I'd encourage you to check again.

The buttons on tabs was just so I could label them, so y'all would have an idea of what it means, or looks like. It wasn't a button, but actually a menu, where I took everything out except for the name. ;)/>

Someone complained about how big the buttons were, so i made them smaller. I can certainly make them bigger.

Care to elaborate on the spacing?
0

#12 User is offline   dexter11 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Joined: 25-March 05

Posted 05 August 2007 - 12:19 PM

I like this one. The only thing left for me is the find button on the menu bar. The search function should be on the icon bar too. But not as a button. Put a text field and radio buttons or combo box there. And make that text field default (if you can setup tab order in Glade).
Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   linux_learner 

  • always the student
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 05 August 2007 - 03:36 PM

View Postdexter11, on Aug 5 2007, 05:19 AM, said:

I like this one. The only thing left for me is the find button on the menu bar. The search function should be on the icon bar too. But not as a button. Put a text field and radio buttons or combo box there. And make that text field default (if you can setup tab order in Glade).



That's my next step. At least we're getting to the point where we like it.
0

#14 User is offline   linux_learner 

  • always the student
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 892
  • Joined: 04-October 03

Posted 07 August 2007 - 08:45 AM

I had another idea. What if I took the glade designed gui of smart, and made it web based. So you could use the gui as a stand alone front end, or in a browser. http://gtk.php.net/m...de.gladexml.php
0

#15 User is offline   dexter11 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,560
  • Joined: 25-March 05

Posted 07 August 2007 - 10:07 AM

But the regular GUI remains?
Anyway browser based package managing doesn't make too much sense to me. I certainly wouldn't use it. I don't even know who would prefer it over the regular GUI.
Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users