MandrivaUsers.org : My new project - need help! - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

My new project - need help!

#1 User is offline   mystified 

  • vampyregeek
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 6,130
  • Joined: 18-September 02

Posted 01 May 2007 - 05:41 PM

I have a fully working server on my gentoo box. Currently I have a test board on localhost but I want one that I can access online. I have registered the domain name vampyregeek.org (of course!) and I know it takes several days before I can use it but I need to know how to set it up. I have emerged bind. I know I need to configured named.conf and also I have db.vampyregeek.org from when someone tried to help me before. I'll attach it. The ip address listed is no longer good which is why I haven't commented it out. Thanks for any help!

Edit: okay I can't attach it so I'll post it here.

$TTL 3h
vampyregeek.org. IN SOA vampyregeek.org. barbara.vampyregeek.org. (
2
3h
1h
1w
1h )

vampyregeek.org. IN NS ns1.vampyregeek.org.
vampyregeek.org. IN NS ns1.zorq.net.

;
;Host Addresses
;

vampyregeek.org. IN A 67.9.109.176
ns1.vampyregeek.org. IN A 67.9.109.176


;
;Aliases
;

gentoo.vampyregeek.org. IN CNAME vampyregeek.org.
www.vampyregeek.org. IN CNAME vampyregeek.org.



Thanks again.
And please don't tell me to just use a hosting company. What's the fun in that?
Desktop Posted Image
Laptop Posted Image
0

#2 User is offline   Steve Scrimpshire 

  • This is a dark ride
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 3,590
  • Joined: 13-December 02

Posted 01 July 2007 - 02:42 AM

Heh. I'm kinda/sorta going to say use a hosting company. I never could figure out Bind and all that, so I went to no-ip.com and paid a little for their non-free package where they point your domain name to whatever ip you need it pointed to. For free, they will do one for vampyregeek.no-ip.com too. :D/>
Posted Image
0

#3 User is offline   iphitus 

  • Arch Linux Developer, Rocket Scientist
  • View blog
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 3,869
  • Joined: 16-April 03

Posted 01 July 2007 - 03:16 AM

if he doesnt respond soon, ask paul, he knows all this stuff inside and out.

James
0

#4 User is offline   mystified 

  • vampyregeek
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 6,130
  • Joined: 18-September 02

Posted 02 July 2007 - 01:03 AM

Actually I got everything configured but then ran into a problem with virtual hosts. It's supposed to work where you can set it up by name instead of ip address but it kept giving me a conflict and would only recognize one site at a time. I haven't given up but I just haven't had time to work on it lately.
Desktop Posted Image
Laptop Posted Image
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users