MandrivaUsers.org : HowTo make screenshots - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

HowTo make screenshots

#1 User is offline   qeldroma 

  • Awesome
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 427
  • Joined: 06-October 02

Posted 10 October 2002 - 12:37 AM

me:
When i'm trying to do some screenshots nothing really happens. Where do they go?
I browsed my home, but nothing there?!
When i'm trying to do that by gimp, it can't handle the openoffice screens.....?!
Help!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
ezroller:
if you use gkrellm, there is a plugin that will allow you to take screenshots. And I am pretty sure that it will handle the open office too. I'm not exactly sure why the gimp would not.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Germ:
When you do a screen capture with The Gimp, you have the option of a single window or the entire screen. When you do the screen capture, The Gimp should open a window showing it and allow you to choose where to save it and in what format.
I don't use open office, but I can't see why The Gimp would have probs with it.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
me:
By the way: im using kde3, and there is a screencapture functionality on the print-key. So where are tey after shot??
I tried gimp and could capture all but screens with ooffice on it. Perhaps java ?!
GKrellm isn't the way, because i have to take a shot without it.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
rolf:
When I open Screen Capture from 'K' > Multimedia > Graphics, a dialog is presented with a Save path (default my /home directory). This is for the 8.2 release kde.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
tobyink:
When you take a screenshot with GKrellM, you've got GKrellM sitting in the corner of the screen on the picture Sad
When you take a screenshot with The GIMP, you've got The GIMP sitting in the corner of the screen on the picture Crying or Very sad
!! Solution !!
Simply switch to a virtual console, log in and run this command:

import -window root root.jpeg

This will take a screen capture of your X session. And (because the program itself is running on a virtual console) the screen capture program won't even be in the screen shot!!! It will save the file to your home directory.
Cool, eh? The power of the command line. Even X screen captures can be done from it!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
me:
With gimp, i tried without OOffice, but it filled some parts of the screenshot black (dont really know why).

Ok, i found KScreen... under /multimedia/Grafik, and opened it in another virtual screen. Set 15 seconds, went back to my original screen, voilá, i got it without the tool Wink

But i give the console method a try now)
0

#2 Guest_frew_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 10 October 2002 - 04:06 PM

hmmmm, I knew about the import command, but let's say that someone else is logged into X and I log in remotely...can I look at their screen?
0

#3 User is offline   theYinYeti 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,147
  • Joined: 23-September 02

Posted 11 October 2002 - 08:51 AM

I don't know for Gnome2, but there's a cool applet for Gnome1.4 in Mandrake8.1 at least, that allows to take a screenshot of a window or the full screen.

Yves.
0

#4 Guest_frew_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 11 October 2002 - 04:45 PM

Quote

I don't know for Gnome2, but there's a cool applet for Gnome1.4 in Mandrake8.1 at least, that allows to take a screenshot of a window or the full screen.

Yves.

as was said before:
import -window root root.jpeg

will get the whole screen, and in the same manner:
import -windom gaim blah.jpeg
will get a screenshot of gaim.
0

#5 User is offline   davebsr 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 29-October 02

Posted 29 October 2002 - 04:08 PM

How do i get the name of an application? I try
import -window mozilla moz.png
and
import -window mozilla-bin moz.png
no luck. I get "import: No window with specified id exists (mozilla)." or
"import: Unable to read X window image (mozilla-bin).
import: Missing an image file name." for each, respectively. *shrug*. help? is there and X tool?
0

#6 User is offline   qeldroma 

  • Awesome
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 427
  • Joined: 06-October 02

Posted 29 October 2002 - 07:52 PM

To find out hte name, try "ps -ax".

Then you'll get a list of active processes, where the names are "original".
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users