Command Line Interface (CLI) Help

Hello guys,

I am a newbie to computer. I quite interested to know about the Bash, Ksh, tcsh and many more.

Question :

When i type,

shutdown -t 0 
shutdown -t now

in the console. It won"t work. If i typed

shutdown now

It is work but it go to a black screen which is switch to run level 1 from level 6 which is the GUI desktop.

sh-3.1 #

After it, i don"t know why the system cannot shuting down. What command should i type in order to shuting down the system.

I know the difference between $ and #. $ is a normal user and # is a root user which have unlimited permission to change the system.

Could you all guys please explain to me what is sh-3.1 # ? When i typed,

/bin /sh

It changed to another screen, seems like bash or scripting. I have no idea what is it. The screen is sh-3.1 $ .

Then i try to typed, echo "Hello World". It appeared the Hello World to the console.

In general, please help me on this. I have enough suffered on this. Please forgive my stupidness, if this is a stupid question.

Thasnk for your help.

Hope GOD will blessed you.

When i typed,

if !/bin/bash

It's go to antoher screen which is

>

I odn"t know what is it ? Please help on this. Thansk for u your help.

Question :

When i type,

shutdown -t 0 
shutdown -t now

in the console. It won"t work. If i typed

shutdown now

It is work but it go to a black screen which is switch to run level 1 from level 6 which is the GUI desktop.

sh-3.1 #

im not in linux so im doing this from memory... :)

shutdown requires that you pass it the time when it will start shutting down processes. when you specified the -t parameter on the first two invocations then you just told it to wait (-t) 0 and <whatever number 'now' evaluates to> seconds but you didn't specify what would be the reference time to shutdown. i would assume that invoking the following would work:

shutdown -t 0 now

because it means you want the system to shutdown now with 0 second delay.