MandrivaUsers.org : Mandriva One Live - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Mandriva One Live Start up

#1 Guest_Giobatta_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 02 July 2006 - 09:23 AM

I tried to check other post without finding any answer. I hope somebody can help me.

This the situation:
- I downloaded the 3 files "Mandriva-One-Americas-Western-Europe-2006-CD.iso", "Mandriva-One-Americas-Western-Europe-2006-CD.md5.asc" and "Mandriva-One-Americas-Western-Europe-2006-CD.sha1.asc"
- I burned the ISO file on CD (by the way what to do with the other 2 files md5.asc and sha1.asc?)
- I boot from CD and the program is staring up
- after few minutes everything freezes; dark screen and CDR stopped

What did I do wrong? Does it not work because of the 2 files unused?
By the way I am using a THINKPAD T43 (CPU 1.8 GHz, HD 60 GB, RAM 1GB)
0

#2 User is offline   arctic 

  • Platinum
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 8,192
  • Joined: 11-June 04

Posted 02 July 2006 - 10:19 AM

No, it has nothing to do with the other two files. They are only for checking the iso quality of your download.

If it stalls at the installation, try booting the CD with one of the following parameters (at the first bootscreen, press F1 instead of "enter"):

linux noapic
linux nolapic
linux noapic nolapic

Then retry the installation. Maybe it helps
Mageia 1
0

#3 Guest_Giobatta_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 02 July 2006 - 11:54 AM

Thanks for the info, but unfortunately it's not working.

- I boot from CD
- press "F1"
- at the first login, typed "linux noapic"; second login "linux nolapic"; third login "linux noapic"; all 3 times got error message "could not find kernel image" (or something like that).

Additional info:
- on my laptop I have XP professional
- did not change any BIOS setting, just put boot from the CD

This post has been edited by Giobatta: 02 July 2006 - 12:32 PM

0

#4 User is offline   scarecrow 

  • Platinum
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 5,157
  • Joined: 16-February 05

Posted 02 July 2006 - 12:49 PM

"could not find kernel image" = bad burn or bad download.
0

#5 User is offline   arctic 

  • Platinum
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 8,192
  • Joined: 11-June 04

Posted 02 July 2006 - 01:04 PM

If you still have the iso image on your computer along with the md5sum file, then do a md5sumcheck before buring again at lower speed. Read this post: http://mandrivausers...?showtopic=4638
Mageia 1
0

#6 Guest_Giobatta_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 02 July 2006 - 01:47 PM

Thanks ARTIC.

Unfortunately I first red the message of SCARECROW so I started I new download (overwriting old file) from a different site.
When finished, I will follow your instructions and let you know.
0

#7 Guest_Giobatta_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 02 July 2006 - 03:16 PM

NIET!! Doesn't work!!

- I downloaded new file from different site
- checked md5sum file (with procedure as per linked post) and was OK
- burned the ISO image
- boot from CD with same results of before; freezing and same error message after entered at the logon "noapic"
- tried with another older laptop, same results

Burning using RECORDNOW!

I think my LINUX dream is over!! I will try tomorrow on a desktop.

This post has been edited by Giobatta: 02 July 2006 - 03:17 PM

0

#8 User is offline   arctic 

  • Platinum
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 8,192
  • Joined: 11-June 04

Posted 02 July 2006 - 03:33 PM

Bump. No idea why it freezes on the lappy if it's not because of apic. :sad:/>
Mageia 1
0

#9 Guest_Giobatta_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 02 July 2006 - 04:29 PM

By the way, I noticed that when booting MAN 1 from the CD the HD led works.
Does the booting uses the HD for writing files?

When booting, after pressing F1, it is writen LIVE [kernel option] so I tried to change from LINUX NOAPIC to LIVE NOAPIC but no results
0

#10 User is offline   AussieJohn 

  • MAGEIA Loyal
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,134
  • Joined: 25-August 03

Posted 02 July 2006 - 07:22 PM

As far as I know it only uses the installed memory. I am sure you could run it with no Hard drive installed.
I think it comes back to how you burnt your CD. Most likely too fast a burn speed and possibly incompatable cd discs. you have to be absolutely sure you burnt the disc as iso and NOT as a data disk.
Burn at about 4X and not on auto which can burn up to 48X.

Cheers. John.
The Computer future is here TODAY ..... Mageia-5.0, KDE4, Dolphin, K3B, Grip, Audacious, Totem, Kaffeine, SVLC, Kmail, Libre-Office, Scribus, XSane, Gimp, OpenShot, FireFox, FlightGear, Filelight, Gwenview, Geeqie, GoogleEarth, Skype, Pysol-FC.

Corsair Obsidian 750D Full Tower Case (full Window), AMD Athlon-FX8120 8-Core 3.1Ghz Processor, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 USB3 rev.4 MainBoard, Gigabyte Nvidia-GeForce-9600-GT VideoCard, 16Gb Corsair "Vengeance" DDR3 Memory, 1 x Corsair 240Gb SSD Neutron Hard Drive, WD SATA-II 500GB 16mb HDD, 2 x LG Sata DVD-R/RW Burners, LG 27" LED LCD HDMI Monitor, Hewlitt-Packard PhotoSmart 6510 Printer, APC BackUPS-CS-650 UPS, Corsair HX650W Power Supply, Vantec Dual HDD Docking Station SATA-USB3.

ADSL-2+ Internet Connection_100Gb (Bigpond)

JOHN. (82yrs, Young) Registered LINUX user #318452
0

#11 User is offline   scarecrow 

  • Platinum
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 5,157
  • Joined: 16-February 05

Posted 02 July 2006 - 07:32 PM

Could you possibly try it again with
linux acpi=off nopcmcia
I had the same problem with a liveCD, and the problem was an unsupported (or rather buggily supported) cardbus multi-controller.
0

#12 Guest_Giobatta_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 03 July 2006 - 05:29 AM

The problem is the same. Entering LINUX xxxx I get the error message "could not find kernel image".
When booting, I checked in VERBOSE mode and found two faillure:
- remounting root filesystem ....... FAILED
- check for new hardware ...... FAILED
Could the problem be with BIOS?

By the way, I burned the forth CD (!!!) using NERO at 4x. I believe is not a burning problem.

PS. I just tried the CD on desktop and it works. So it is something related to the laptop.

This post has been edited by Giobatta: 03 July 2006 - 06:51 AM

0

#13 User is offline   arctic 

  • Platinum
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 8,192
  • Joined: 11-June 04

Posted 03 July 2006 - 08:37 AM

Yes, it could be a BIOS problem. I almost guess that one of the BIOS features is not supported by the kernel in Mandriva ONE due to a missing module/package. I suggest you check bugzilla (see my signature) and report a new bug in case you don't find anything there. If you are unsure on how to submit a bug, ask us.
Mageia 1
0

#14 Guest_Crusty_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 26 October 2006 - 07:54 PM

I had a similar problem using PCLinuxOS on a HP Pavillion Desktop.

Try typing 'safeboot' at the startup bit where you press F1

That worked for me but it might disable some stuff...

Maybe try a different version of Mandriva (KDE or GNOME)


It must just be problems with certain versions of Linux on certain computers..........

This post has been edited by Crusty: 26 October 2006 - 07:55 PM

0

#15 Guest_Smackie_*

  • Group: Guests

Posted 01 November 2006 - 10:11 PM

Hi, I also have a similar problem, but I dont get any error message. I have a mandriva 2007 Live cd. It starts up and then stops after "Starting Numlock [ok]". Sometimes it stops somewhere else. It gives no error message, it simply stops responding.

This happens on my Laptop HP Intel 3.0Ghz and another Intel Desktop. The CD however works on a Sempron desktop.

Please help as I am yet another Windows user sick of all the Crap that M$ gives me.

Thanx
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users