KDE System Guard, security and ports

laiback

Please forgive my ignorance but I am new to Linux, Mandriva and especially the forum.

I have read some of the security messages and came to realise that instead of having my Firewall on, as I thought was the default, it was turned off ! ah!!. So thanks for that as I changed the settings immediately. However, I have also run KDE System Guard which I found under Monitoring. When I display a graph called Network/Sockets/raw/Table I can see at least 4 ports/lines all the time. They are identified as ports 7741, ipp, X11 and local host 5353. Is this normal and if not what should I do to correct this situation?

I'm running Mandriva 2006 (free edition) on an AMD K6 400 Mz, 512Mb ram with exchangeable caddy hard drives.

Many thanks for your time.

[moved from Software by spinynorman]

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well I am not a security expert by any means but I will try to get this thread active.

According to my ports list, 7741 is unassigned and 5353 is for multicast DNS.

I am a Mandriva 2005 user running the native firewall "shorewall" accessed from within MCC. I have DSL using a Westell ethernet modem. When I used the KDE system guard as you specified I did not see any raw sockets listed.

What kind of internet connection do you have?

Are you using shorewall?

If you are using shorewall, how did you configure things within MCC?

Oh and welcome to the MUB! :D

Edited by daniewicz

I am not a security expert either, but my rule of thumb is to turn off all services which have anything to do with network, except for the vital ones, i.e., network.

Edit: according to this post, http://www.niscc.gov.uk/niscc/docs/br-2002...71.html?lang=en

7741 is default for LISa, the Linux version of the network neighborhood. It's a totally useless service. Stop it, then check the list of open ports.

Edited by coverup

Thank you for these replies.