New distro in town: Freespire (from Linspire)

Darkelve

It' been a long time since I read such a narrow-minded article like this. It mixes two completely different matters which is a free distro with propietary stuff included and putting binary moduls into the Linux kernel. Well to the first one my opinion is why not. Maybe the article writer didn't heard about it but such distros already exist. Not to mention other distros like Mandriva when you just have to give them a small amount of money and their faith in open source just disappears and they give you every propietary stuff you want. In this point of view Debian is the ultimate distro.

About putting pressure on hardware drivers: first of all I'm not a programmer but I've heard everywhere that writing drivers is a way more difficult then writing desktop apps. It gets even more difficult if you don't have the specifications. And hardware manufacturers are scared to death about giving away any detailed info about their stuff. XGL is designed to use propietary drivers so is it evil then? Without assuring users they can use their hardware under Linux how could you lure them from windows? Without a huge userbase how can you put pressure on hardware manufacturers?

The article almost states that earning profit is evil. Or profit oriented companies in the IT world are evil. Well without these companies Linux just still would be a toy of several thousands of programmers. I say if the propietry driver is better than the opensource driver then use that. Make the user base bigger and donate to the open source driver writers from the profit. And if the propietary stuff gets buggy or evil then throw it out.

I agree with Dexter here....

the very point that Groklaw makes is about them seeing Windows as their main competitor, not RH or Suse.

However its not following the steps of Ubuntu so far as I can tell because they say that you can still use the Debian repo's and that is a major difference.