Firewall & Security Questions [solved]

vixenk

I'm a bit new to Mandriva, so take it easy on me. ;)

First of all, I would like to set up the firewall in Mandriva, but whenever I try to do it it blocks filesharing on my LAN, even if I allow all the connections in the first screen. Could someone help me configure the firewall and/or network settings so that it blocks outside attempts but allows file and printer sharing within the LAN?

Second, what security setting should Mandriva be set up for? While going through setup "high" was the default but I was worried that would be too strong for the LAN so I selected standard. If this isn't a recommended setting and it should be on high *and high won't screw with my LAN*, is there any way to change it without reinstalling?

I'm a bit new to Mandriva, so take it easy on me. ;)

First of all, I would like to set up the firewall in Mandriva, but whenever I try to do it it blocks filesharing on my LAN, even if I allow all the connections in the first screen. Could someone help me configure the firewall and/or network settings so that it blocks outside attempts but allows file and printer sharing within the LAN?

You can use shorewall (MCC --> Security --> Set up firewall...) (translation from finnish) and open ports that you want to. I don't remember port numbers for Samba or NFS, so you have to find them yourself.

Click the "Advanced Settings" -button (translation from finnish, so it might not be the same on your computer) to configure ports manually.

Example:

22/tcp

This would open a port for SSH server (no need to do it this way, because there is a checkbox for that).

Remember that this opens the port for all traffic, outbound and inbound.