MandrivaUsers.org : Mandriva 2006 installation - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Mandriva 2006 installation screenshots plus some explanations

#1 User is offline   aRTee 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,216
  • Joined: 08-November 02

Posted 13 October 2005 - 08:39 AM

My installation walkthrough for Mandriva Linux 2006 is now available, please check it out at: Mandriva Linux 2006 installation walkthrough.

For comments on my page, please go to this topic.

If you have comments or questions regarding the Mandriva Linux 2006 installation process, feel free to add them here.
Please open a separate topic for specific issues.


BTW:
Release Notes
Errata
System specs.

Mandrake/Mandriva linux tips 4 free

"You can do things with a computer with a graphical user interface (GUI),
whereas a computer with a command line interface (CLI) can do things for you." - aRTee, May 2008
0

#2 User is offline   Ross L. 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 02-August 05

Posted 16 November 2005 - 07:43 PM

Release Notes and Errata are both dead links as of time of this post.
0

#3 User is offline   aRTee 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,216
  • Joined: 08-November 02

Posted 16 November 2005 - 08:19 PM

Work fine for me at this moment...
System specs.

Mandrake/Mandriva linux tips 4 free

"You can do things with a computer with a graphical user interface (GUI),
whereas a computer with a command line interface (CLI) can do things for you." - aRTee, May 2008
0

#4 User is offline   arctic 

  • Platinum
  • View blog
  • Group: Global Moderator
  • Posts: 8,192
  • Joined: 11-June 04

Posted 16 November 2005 - 08:54 PM

Works for me, too.
Mageia 1
0

#5 User is offline   ambi 

  • New Here
  • Group: New here
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 07-February 06

Posted 07 February 2006 - 04:05 AM

aRTee: Thanks for your detailed installation write-up. I have ordered the 7CD version of 2006 Powerpack. My plan is to make a server out of an old Toshiba 4010CDT laptop (160 MB RAM, 12GB hdd). This laptop does not have a built-il LAN connection; so I will be using a 3COM PCMCIA card. Question: When should the card be inserted? Before, during, or after the installation.
0

#6 User is offline   aRTee 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2,216
  • Joined: 08-November 02

Posted 07 February 2006 - 09:20 PM

Hi ambi,
thanks for the feedback.

As for your question, I'd say, first try with the card in the pcmcia slot before you start the installation. If all goes well (as it should, pcmcia is standard, and 3com NICs should all be supported), you can just setup your network connection during installation and be done with it.
System specs.

Mandrake/Mandriva linux tips 4 free

"You can do things with a computer with a graphical user interface (GUI),
whereas a computer with a command line interface (CLI) can do things for you." - aRTee, May 2008
0

#7 User is offline   payasam 

  • Little kids put gooey chocolate on my grey beard. Am I awesome?
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 398
  • Joined: 15-September 04

Posted 23 February 2006 - 05:21 PM

Here's something which must rank at the top of the Cosmic Stupidity Scale. I'm pulling in the first of the three ISOs of 2006. When I have them all written to CD, what do I do? I did a clean install of 10.1 when I moved up from 10.0, which of course meant spending much time putting in again, and configuring, all the applications I used then. I also had to store data in safe places. Will it be possible now to upgrade without leaving a whole lot of junk floating about?
0

#8 User is offline   AussieJohn 

  • MAGEIA votary
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,119
  • Joined: 25-August 03

Posted 23 February 2006 - 08:02 PM

Hello again, payasam.
When you boot the first cd you will go through to a point where it will ask you whether you want to do an install or an upgrade. Just select the upgrade path and it will only install the upgrades of the packages you already have nstalled. Sometimes this can cause a few bugs later but in most cases it seems to work AOK.
If you have done the recommended thing of having /home on its own seperate partition then all your settings will remain intact even if you ultimately find it necessary to do a clean install all over again.

Cheers. John.
The Computer future is here TODAY ..... Mageia-4, KDE4, Dolphin, K3B, Grip, Audacious, Totem, Kaffeine, SVLC, Kmail, Libre-Office, Scribus, XSane, Gimp, OpenShot, FireFox, FlightGear, Filelight, Gwenview, Geeqie, GoogleEarth, Skype, Pysol-FC.

Corsair Obsidian 750D Full Tower Case (full Window), AMD Athlon-FX8120 8-Core 3.1Ghz Processor, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 USB3 rev.4 MainBoard, Gigabyte Nvidia-GeForce-9600-GT VideoCard, 16Gb Corsair "Vengeance" DDR3 Memory, 1 x Corsair 240Gb SSD Neutron Hard Drive, WD SATA-II 500GB 16mb HDD, 2 x LG Sata DVD-R/RW Burners, LG 27" LED LCD HDMI Monitor, Hewlitt-Packard PhotoSmart 6510 Printer, APC BackUPS-CS-650 UPS, Corsair HX650W Power Supply, Vantec Dual HDD Docking Station SATA-USB3.

ADSL-2+ Internet Connection_50Gb (Bigpond)

JOHN. (79+++yrs, Young) Registered LINUX user #318452
0

#9 User is offline   payasam 

  • Little kids put gooey chocolate on my grey beard. Am I awesome?
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 398
  • Joined: 15-September 04

Posted 23 February 2006 - 09:07 PM

Hello, John. Been a while, hasn't it? All right about choosing the upgrade option. I wouldn't have known there is one as I did a clean install of 10.1 after 10.0. Yes, I have /home on a separate partition. Thanks for the hand-holding.
0

#10 User is offline   MrMandrake 

  • New Here
  • Group: New here
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-April 06

Posted 17 April 2006 - 01:50 AM

ARtree,
I do appreciate your detailed illustration on how to install the Mandrake 2006 correctly. It is very informatibve indeed.
One of my biggest frastration is installation of non-rpm s/w packages. Such as Firefox 1.5.02 or Thunderbird 1.5 or StarOffice 8 which use on my Windows system. Both Mozilla packages do not come as rpm in Mandriva.

Although myself is a former electrical engineer. By and large I am a "windows" guy. That is click-n-install. I really have no time, nor the inclination to learn all the intricate keyboard commands to install the s/w through the command line.
Forgive me, but I am looking for an easy and smooth installation avenue, which rpm seem to offer very well.

I have two questions please.

1. where on my disk do you recomment to install new application s/w (some suggest the /opt directory as most appropriate. Oher say /etc directory).

2. Is there any s/w which would enable me to use the root on non root midnight commander, to allow me to create a new directory on which I wish to install the new app. program. Then copy the s/w there. Then point and click for automatic installtion of the s/w on that particular directory.

thank you kindly
0

#11 User is offline   payasam 

  • Little kids put gooey chocolate on my grey beard. Am I awesome?
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 398
  • Joined: 15-September 04

Posted 17 April 2006 - 05:46 AM

MrMandrake, if you are a Windows person, have what you need there, and are short of time, it's probably best that you stay there. No "intricate keyboard commands" are needed to install on Mandrake/Mandriva the software packages you name: of those, I have StarOffice 7, OpenOffice 2, Thunderbird and Firefox. All installed without a hitch, and I don't think any came as RPMs.
0

#12 User is offline   MrMandrake 

  • New Here
  • Group: New here
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-April 06

Posted 17 April 2006 - 03:13 PM

View Postpayasam, on Apr 16 2006, 09:46 PM, said:

MrMandrake, if you are a Windows person, have what you need there, and are short of time, it's probably best that you stay there. No "intricate keyboard commands" are needed to install on Mandrake/Mandriva the software packages you name: of those, I have StarOffice 7, OpenOffice 2, Thunderbird and Firefox. All installed without a hitch, and I don't think any came as RPMs.


patasam,
I did install the FF 1.06 & OpenOffice 1.13 which came with the Mandrake 2006 CD, also w/o a hitch. I am talking about upgrading, or installing lates application s/w such as StarOffiec 8,, Thundabird & Firefox 1.5.02 which come as .tar.gz format. (instead of rpm)

I mean there ought to a better way to use KDE or GNOM interfaces to install these packages.
0

#13 User is offline   ffi 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,544
  • Joined: 05-February 06

Posted 17 April 2006 - 03:29 PM

Iīm not very apt with the command line either and prefer to do things graphicly anyways, commandlines are so 1985....


Anyway, you could just extract ff in your home directory and run from there or type kdesu konqueror and have konqueror launched as root or enable root logins as described here: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/sh...t=root+gdm.conf and then put the unzipped directory where you want it.

Donīt know which would be good paths though for installation...

(edit: fix link to correct thread)

This post has been edited by ffi: 17 April 2006 - 03:34 PM

"Of liberty I would say that, in the whole plenitude of its extent, it is unobstructed action according to our will. But rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual."
Thomas Jefferson
0

#14 User is offline   scarecrow 

  • Platinum
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 5,157
  • Joined: 16-February 05

Posted 17 April 2006 - 03:46 PM

Using a GUI for braindead CLI tasks is a great way to screw beyond repair what else would have been a pretty fast+trivial job... :P/>
0

#15 User is offline   payasam 

  • Little kids put gooey chocolate on my grey beard. Am I awesome?
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 398
  • Joined: 15-September 04

Posted 17 April 2006 - 04:47 PM

MrMandrake, OpenOffice 2 was not on the MDV 2006 I downloaded, nor Thunderbird 1.5, nor Firefox 1.5. Not so difficult to remove old versions and type "tar xzvf <filename>" to get moving with the new ones. In Thunderbird and Firefox, you might like to look at one of the options in the Help menu. PaYasam.
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users