MandrivaUsers.org : Samba Client On Windows Domain [solved] - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Samba Client On Windows Domain [solved] Can't get access to a Windows domain

#1 User is offline   Murda 

  • frequent
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 08-January 05

Post icon  Posted 07 April 2005 - 08:31 AM

Hi.

I've been searching tips on how to join to a win domain with my mdk 10.1 (laptop) but everywhere i look, there's only some talk about samba shares and samba as being domain server. I can't even get a internet access with my laptop. Let's say that i must connect to a domain called "domain" and i can see from windows configuration that there's a gateway computer at 10.1.0.254. It doesn't allow any traffic through if you are not in that domain (school network). Network uses Static ip addresses (no DHCP server online). I've been trying to configure samba through "Set your Desktop" (i use a translation from KDE so i don't know what it is in english) without any results. When i press that "Join a Domain" -button, it opens a window asking username and pass, but when i give them there and click ok, nothing happens. I'm completely out of ideas. Please help.

And i'm not a great Linux expert but i still know something about networking.

This post has been edited by Murda: 05 July 2005 - 04:57 PM

Posted ImagemLaptop: Toshiba Satellite 4300 Series
Posted Image mServer: 2x2.2ghz Intel, 2048mb DDR, 200gb HDD
0

#2 User is offline   aioshin 

  • MUB Addict
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 816
  • Joined: 23-August 04

Posted 08 April 2005 - 01:57 AM

I have not tried my linux to join a windows domain, but I've tried windows to join a Samba PDC, so... in joining a Samba PDC, you should create the user account in your samba host, and those account should be able to login to a windows box, even if those account does not exist in that box (windows / usually 2k/xp). If a win2k box will join a windows domain, same scenario will happen, user accounts are created only at the windows host acting as domain, but I dunno it that scenario will work in linux,.. so you better try ( if u have'nt tried it yet) to create an account in your linux box similar to the account assigned to you and exist already in the Win Domain server. then use that to login to your linux box... well, I dunno if that really wrks... but you could just give it a try...
Mandriva 2008.1 @wORk
Mandriva 2008.1 @ hOMe
0

#3 User is offline   Murda 

  • frequent
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 08-January 05

Post icon  Posted 08 April 2005 - 08:28 AM

sorry, i didn't say that i wanted to login to that domain with my own domain username and pass and with my own Linux username.

Let's say that i have username and pass to that domain like this:

user: M
pass: pass

and Linux username:

user: Murda
pass: password

my problem is that i can't login as "M" to a Windows domain thru samba as Linux user "Murda". I've tried almost all options (that have anything to do with my problem) from samba config. I just need an internet connection, i don't need to see any shares because i can handle them thru ftp in the network. Bad thing there is that all these windows machines are somehow restricted by admin. I have ftp server on my laptop running and static ip set. But still i can't connect to that laptop with ftp. So i need to be in that domain. I can access ftp servers outside the network (i have Mandrake Server running at home and i have full access thru ftp there). Tricky.. :(
Posted ImagemLaptop: Toshiba Satellite 4300 Series
Posted Image mServer: 2x2.2ghz Intel, 2048mb DDR, 200gb HDD
0

#4 User is offline   aioshin 

  • MUB Addict
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 816
  • Joined: 23-August 04

Posted 08 April 2005 - 09:13 AM

try this one
$ net -S DOMAIN-Server -U user JOIN

where domain-server = name of your domain server host
user = user M ( the user in the domain)

the command will let the local pc (samba server) to join the domain... havent tried it yet my self, coz as i've said, dont have a windows domain
Mandriva 2008.1 @wORk
Mandriva 2008.1 @ hOMe
0

#5 User is offline   Murda 

  • frequent
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 08-January 05

Post icon  Posted 11 April 2005 - 08:44 AM

this is all what i get:

Quote

[2005/04/11 11:36:56, 0] utils/net_ads.c:ads_startup(186)
  ads_connect: Transport endpoint is not connected

Unable to find a suitable server


Unable to find a suitable server


I made it also as root. I have no idea what is wrong. I have my network connection configured and ready, i also unplugged one windows machine's cable and put my laptop (linux) cable there and configured ip and dns servers the same as the windows machine. But all i get is this. This isn't so important thing that someone should really start searching a solution for this, i just wanted to ask if someone had same problems than me and solved them.
Posted ImagemLaptop: Toshiba Satellite 4300 Series
Posted Image mServer: 2x2.2ghz Intel, 2048mb DDR, 200gb HDD
0

#6 User is offline   aioshin 

  • MUB Addict
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 816
  • Joined: 23-August 04

Posted 11 April 2005 - 09:02 AM

wah... anyway, that's all I can give, am not really searching, just so happen that I tried to set-up a samba primary domain controller, and had me my samba doc, really lots of docss, commands. and config guide.. then I saw that command I' d gave you... but since that doesńot work, hope you'll figure it out yourself... good luck


btw, try use irc, logon to #samba channel, lots of users there, maybe some can help

This post has been edited by aioshin: 11 April 2005 - 09:04 AM

Mandriva 2008.1 @wORk
Mandriva 2008.1 @ hOMe
0

#7 User is offline   Murda 

  • frequent
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 08-January 05

Posted 11 April 2005 - 05:01 PM

roger, i'll try that irc.
Posted ImagemLaptop: Toshiba Satellite 4300 Series
Posted Image mServer: 2x2.2ghz Intel, 2048mb DDR, 200gb HDD
0

#8 User is offline   Bdickson2000 

  • Mr. Dickson
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 16-April 05

Posted 03 May 2005 - 03:30 AM

Murda:

Here's the steps i followed to get access to this Win2000 laptop from my Mdk 10.1 box via ethernet:

Win2000:

Share drive(s)
Set Permissions | Include Network as a user
Control Panel | Network | Name your Workgroup
reboot

WinXP:

Share drive(s)
Set Permissions | Include Network as a user
Windows Explorer | Tools | Folder options | View Tab | Simple File Sharing
Control Panel | Network | Name your Workgroup
reboot

10.1 and KDE:

System |Configuration | Configure Your Computer => Mandrakiva Control Center
Mount Points
Local Disk Sharing - enable mode you want
Samba Mount Points | Search Servers | Select System(s) | Name Windows drives: 'Win2K_C - WinXP-D - Windoze-E' etc. | Mount Drives | Name Samba domain same as Windows WorkGroup (You may have to search around to find all these options, as i don't have KDE up, but I remember them presenting pretty clearly)

Done

Now the drives are mounted, and you can read them.

It's gotta work, or your money back.

BD
Test System: P-75S, 32MB RAM, 6GB HD, Older CD-ROM, 2MB Video Card. If it runs Here, it'll run AnyWhere. User #3.14.159.
0

#9 User is offline   Murda 

  • frequent
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 08-January 05

Posted 05 July 2005 - 04:57 PM

I just started thinking that it might be MAC Address restriction problem there. I can use them at home (XP, 10.1 and LE2005) but not at school network. So let's consider this one as solved.
Posted ImagemLaptop: Toshiba Satellite 4300 Series
Posted Image mServer: 2x2.2ghz Intel, 2048mb DDR, 200gb HDD
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users