MandrivaUsers.org : OpenDarwin and DarwinPorts - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

OpenDarwin and DarwinPorts on my x86

#1 User is offline   tyme 

  • Serial Slacker
  • View blog
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 13,309
  • Joined: 24-October 02

Post icon  Posted 03 June 2004 - 04:24 PM

For fun, I've decided to have a go at installing OpenDarwin (the base of OSX) on my x86, and then putting DarwinPorts on it. I choose DarwinPorts over Fink for the time being due to the fact that DarwinPorts has gnome 2.6.0 (I'm a gnome lover ;)/> ).

I plan to free up the space on my hard drive to begin this project tonight. I'll be posting my experiences here, and later posting an entire write-up over at Code Junkies which I will link to in this thread.
0

#2 User is offline   Qchem 

  • Mandriva Guru
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1,757
  • Joined: 02-October 03

Posted 04 June 2004 - 09:38 AM

:thumbs:/>

I'm waiting patiently for updates already!
Grant
0

#3 User is offline   tyme 

  • Serial Slacker
  • View blog
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 13,309
  • Joined: 24-October 02

Posted 07 June 2004 - 10:06 PM

Unfortunately it would seem that my IDE controllers are not compatible. the CD boots, and goes through detecting some hardware, but locks up. I'm going to try OpenDarwin 6.6.2 instead of Darwin 7.0.1

we'll see what happens.
0

#4 User is offline   bvc 

  • root
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 8,682
  • Joined: 19-September 02

Posted 07 June 2004 - 11:22 PM

After considering the same a few weeks ago I saw a thread that said only Intel chipset were specifically well supported and a few amd/via's. It was suggested that you can try with a via BUT.... :wall:/>

...so I didn't even bother :devil:/>
0

#5 User is offline   HJ 

  • :juggle:
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 291
  • Joined: 11-June 03

Posted 07 June 2004 - 11:45 PM

all the chip sets on my computers are Intel, I might as well give it a go.
"the forum has become like a scab, it's sorta disgusting anymore, but your compelled to pick at it"
0

#6 User is offline   Gnubie 

  • frequent
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: 30-September 03

Posted 08 August 2004 - 07:38 AM

tyme, on Jun 7 2004, 10:06 PM, said:

Unfortunately it would seem that my IDE controllers are not compatible.  the CD boots, and goes through detecting some hardware, but locks up.  I'm going to try OpenDarwin 6.6.2 instead of Darwin 7.0.1

we'll see what happens.
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Well, how did OpenDarwin fare? :cheesy:/>
0

#7 User is offline   tyme 

  • Serial Slacker
  • View blog
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 13,309
  • Joined: 24-October 02

Posted 08 August 2004 - 10:10 PM

it didn't...

apparently it only really works on Intel chipsets, and since I have an SIS chipset it always failed when i tried to install.
0

#8 User is offline   Echylo 

  • Silent But Deadly
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: 28-June 04

Posted 11 August 2004 - 11:35 PM

well I'm gonna give it a try too :)/> :P/>
0

#9 User is offline   jlc 

  • Kainos
  • Group: OTW
  • Posts: 2,574
  • Joined: 31-March 03

Posted 17 August 2004 - 01:34 PM

:lol:/>

I did this same thing about 6 months ago. NOT well supported eh? :furious3:/>
0

#10 User is offline   Cannonfodder 

  • Honorary Admin
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,038
  • Joined: 07-September 02

Posted 18 August 2004 - 12:59 AM

Thinking of giving this a shot.. looks like OS X when its running?
"Have you kissed your local Propeller Head today?"
The answers to Frequently Asked Questions
Posted Image
0

#11 User is offline   tyme 

  • Serial Slacker
  • View blog
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 13,309
  • Joined: 24-October 02

Posted 18 August 2004 - 04:42 AM

no.

OpenDarwin is just the open(er) version of the BSD base of OS X known as Darwin. It doesn't include the OS X GUI. You'd just install XFree86 or xorg and whatever desktop like a normal linux distro.
0

#12 User is offline   Cannonfodder 

  • Honorary Admin
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3,038
  • Joined: 07-September 02

Posted 18 August 2004 - 03:59 PM

tyme, on Aug 17 2004, 11:42 PM, said:

no.

OpenDarwin is just the open(er) version of the BSD base of OS X known as Darwin.  It doesn't include the OS X GUI.  You'd just install XFree86 or xorg and whatever desktop like a normal linux distro.
<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I figured it was just too good to be true, are you guys messing around with it for any benefit or just plain curiosity?
"Have you kissed your local Propeller Head today?"
The answers to Frequently Asked Questions
Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   tyme 

  • Serial Slacker
  • View blog
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 13,309
  • Joined: 24-October 02

Posted 18 August 2004 - 04:06 PM

i was messing with it out of plain curiousity.
0

#14 User is offline   Echylo 

  • Silent But Deadly
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: 28-June 04

Posted 18 August 2004 - 09:24 PM

only thing I get is :

IOATA controller device is blocking bus ...
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users