MandrivaUsers.org : 2 day old Linux User needs Help - MandrivaUsers.org

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2 day old Linux User needs Help Lucent Winmodem, Geforce FX 5200, Sound

#1 User is offline   ilottl 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 16-May 04

Posted 16 May 2004 - 09:01 PM

Well, at this point I am sick of restarting my PC every 5 minutes so I can logon to XP to use the net to find yet another page of how to install a driver which does not work.

PLEASE HELP!!

My System is:
Epox 8RD3A+ Motherboard (which has onboard audio CMedia AC 97) with 512mb, GE Force FX 5200 Card (256mb on board) & Lucent Winmodem

I have installed Mandrake 10.0 Official Download Edition and have managed to install the core 2.6.3.7 (something like that, I did not write it all down).

I am running KDE 3.2

I have not been able to install my modem, I have no sound and am not sure if I have my graphics card working properly.

Question 1: Modem

So far with the modem I have followed the instructions at:

http://www.mandrakeu...showtopic=13773

Unfortunately I do not know what KPPP, if I have it installed or how to install it. Can anybody help.

Question 2: Motherboard
Which driver do I install from the nvidia site is it the Linux driver or the Linux AMD64 driver?

If I am to install the Linux driver which one do I pick out of the 10 or so, is it the NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.tar.gz???

Question 3: Graphics Card.
Here I have found so many drivers and ways to install, any ideas on which one is the correct way.

Is it

http://www.mandrakeu...?showtopic=4567 or

http://www.mandrake....nvidiainst.html

PLEASE HELP!

I have asked a few questions here already and have been pointed to a couple of sites, but when I follow the instructions I just get driver not supported or errors.
0

#2 User is offline   Ixthusdan 

  • Platinum
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 9,042
  • Joined: 17-September 02

Posted 16 May 2004 - 09:14 PM

You have an n-force chipset. Before installing any drivers you must get the n-force drivers installed.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_nforce_...e_1.0-0261.html

Go here and at the bottom of the page download the source rpm. (It ends in .src.rpm)

In a console su to root, and type "rpmbuild --rebuild the.rpm.name.here.src.rpm"

Then type *urpmi /usr/src/RPM/RPMS/i586/*.rpm*

Check back here when you are done with this.
The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion. Edmund Burke, 1784
0

#3 User is offline   kaiocool 

  • casual
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 19-May 04

Posted 19 May 2004 - 02:34 AM

confused, su to root, and what is with the name . here stuff, sorry, i am a noob
0

#4 User is offline   kaba_desu 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-May 04

Posted 19 May 2004 - 06:22 AM

The name.here stuff is an example of the file you should download. Just so that it applies further down the track, when the new nforce drivers come out.

You need to download the latest one called:

NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm


Su to root means that you need to become the super-user...
What you need to do is start a new terminal or konsole session. There's a button for this on the task bar thingy... it looks like a monitor with an > symbol.

When the prompt comes up type: su <enter>
Then enter the root password. <enter>


I'm interested to see how this all pans out for you. I have the same motherboard am I am finding that mandrake 10 locks up quite a bit. I would be interested to know if you manage to install the nforce drivers too - I can't managed it.

This post has been edited by kaba_desu: 19 May 2004 - 06:29 AM

0

#5 User is offline   ilottl 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 16-May 04

Posted 19 May 2004 - 08:02 AM

Well the saga continues,

I got the modem to work, by installing the ltmodem driver, only thing is alsa removes the setup every boot.

I had to reinstall thr rpm (urpmi rpm-build)

When I then tried the rpmbuild --rebuild ...src.rpm on the NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm file I get..

ARE YOU READY!!

warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
warning: user buildmeister does not exist - using root
Executing(%prep): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.86666
+ umask 022
+ cd /usr/src/RPM/BUILD
+ echo '---- Copying Sources ----'
---- Copying Sources ----
+ cd /usr/src/RPM/BUILD
+ rm -rf nforce
+ /usr/bin/gzip -dc /usr/src/RPM/SOURCES/nvnet.tgz
+ tar -xvvf -
drwxr-xr-x buildmeister/adm 0 2003-05-06 20:36:14 nforce/
drwxr-xr-x buildmeister/adm 0 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 16904 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/adapter.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 794 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/basetype.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 6752 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/nvnet.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 4437 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/os.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 4749 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/phy.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 37870 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/nvnet.c
-rw-r--r-- buildmeister/adm 21504 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/nvnetlib.o
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 3088 2003-05-06 20:39:37 nforce/nvnet/Makefile
+ STATUS=0
+ '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
+ cd nforce
+ cd /usr/src/RPM/BUILD
+ /usr/bin/gzip -dc /usr/src/RPM/SOURCES/nvaudio.tgz
+ tar -xvvf -
drwxr-xr-x buildmeister/adm 0 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/
drwxr-xr-x buildmeister/adm 0 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 2522 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/Makefile
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 58241 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvcrush.c
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 32174 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvhw.c
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 33857 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvmain.c
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 8314 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvrec.c
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 26382 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvspdif.c
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 14709 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvwavout.c
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 4546 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/chaninfo.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 5065 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvhw.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 1570 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvioctl.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 1392 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvrec.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 1618 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvspdif.h
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 1499 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvaudio/nvwavout.h
+ STATUS=0
+ '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
+ cd nforce
+ cd /usr/src/RPM/BUILD
+ /usr/bin/gzip -dc /usr/src/RPM/SOURCES/nvmaster.tgz
+ tar -xvvf -
drwxr-xr-x buildmeister/adm 0 2003-05-06 20:39:36 nforce/
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 1091 2003-05-06 20:39:36 nforce/Makefile
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 5404 2003-05-06 20:39:36 nforce/NVLicense.txt
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 18007 2003-05-06 20:39:36 nforce/GNULicense.txt
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 23612 2003-05-06 20:39:36 nforce/ReleaseNotes.html
+ STATUS=0
+ '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
+ cd nforce
+ cd /usr/src/RPM/BUILD
+ /usr/bin/gzip -dc /usr/src/RPM/SOURCES/nvgart.tgz
+ tar -xvvf -
drwxr-xr-x buildmeister/adm 0 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/
drwxr-xr-x buildmeister/adm 0 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvgart/
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 590 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvgart/Makefile
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 1231 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvgart/README
-r--r--r-- buildmeister/adm 14033 2003-05-06 20:39:38 nforce/nvgart/linux-2.4.20-agpgart.diff
+ STATUS=0
+ '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
+ cd nforce
+ exit 0
Executing(%build): /bin/sh -e /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.86666
+ umask 022
+ cd /usr/src/RPM/BUILD
+ cd nforce
+ echo '---- Building Drivers ----'
---- Building Drivers ----
+ make
make -C nvnet
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/RPM/BUILD/nforce/nvnet'
cc -c -Wall -DLINUX -DMODULE -DEXPORT_SYMTAB -D__KERNEL__ -O -Wstrict-prototypes -DCONFIG_PM -fno-strict-aliasing -mpreferred-stack-boundary=2 -march=i686 -falign-functions=4 -DMODULE -I/lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include nvnet.c
In file included from /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/linux/irq.h:20,
from /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/asm/hardirq.h:6,
from /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/linux/interrupt.h:11,
from nvnet.h:30,
from nvnet.c:21:
/lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/asm/irq.h:16:25: irq_vectors.h: No such file or directory
In file included from /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/asm/hardirq.h:6,
from /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/linux/interrupt.h:11,
from nvnet.h:30,
from nvnet.c:21:
/lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/linux/irq.h:70: error: `NR_IRQS' undeclared here (not in a function)
In file included from /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/linux/irq.h:72,
from /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/asm/hardirq.h:6,
from /lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/linux/interrupt.h:11,
from nvnet.h:30,
from nvnet.c:21:
/lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/asm/hw_irq.h:28: error: `NR_IRQ_VECTORS' undeclared here (not in a function)
/lib/modules/2.6.3-7mdk/build/include/asm/hw_irq.h:31: error: `NR_IRQS' undeclared here (not in a function)
nvnet.c: In function `nvnet_open':
nvnet.c:735: warning: passing arg 2 of `request_irq' from incompatible pointer type
nvnet.c: In function `nvnet_remove':
nvnet.c:1248: error: structure has no member named `driver_data'
make[1]: *** [nvnet.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/RPM/BUILD/nforce/nvnet'
make: *** [nvnet_make] Error 2
error: Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.86666 (%build)


RPM build errors:
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
user buildmeister does not exist - using root
Bad exit status from /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.86666 (%build)


I checked all the RPM/RPMS/i* folders and no files etc were written, the dirs are empty.

Any ideas guys??
0

#6 User is offline   kaba_desu 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-May 04

Posted 19 May 2004 - 08:21 AM

That junk is exactly what I get. I can't help but I hope someone else can! I am really considering go back to the 2.4 kernel to see if that works better for me. I'm having major stability issues with the same motherboard.

This post has been edited by kaba_desu: 19 May 2004 - 08:25 AM

0

#7 User is offline   Gowator 

  • always learning
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 5,674
  • Joined: 09-May 03

Posted 19 May 2004 - 08:54 AM

Step back a ways.....
First thing is get it stable, dont worry if the graphics are accelerated or not.

1) Do you have a FAT partition you can write to ?
I can ask you to type some stuff and post the reposnse but it will be long and it would be easier if it can be sent to a file then posted.

2) Do you have access to a DSL line (friend/relative/anyone) downloading individual stuff and then rebooting SUCKS big time.
Your in a bit of a catch-22 mess becuase your modem isnt workig and the easiest way out of the mess is probably to just use urpmi (the add remove/update)

3) in the past I downloaded the nforce drivers but since 10.0 the forcedeth opensource ones have worked fine (except perhaps sound quality on my nforce audio which you dont have)

I really think #1 priority will be to get your MODEM working ....
if its stable and you then need to use commercial drivers fine but first you need internet access ... Ive been in your position and it SUCKS... I osrted it out by going to a friends with broadband and setting my update sources, getting the modem (lucent) working and then after ythat things were much easier and less frustrating.....
Fere libenter homines id quod volunt credunt. (J.C. de Bello Gallico III/XVIII)

Visit my visitor site for coelaics, find out what a coelaic is even.
http://linuxmigratio....fr/glutenfree/
0

#8 User is offline   ilottl 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 16-May 04

Posted 19 May 2004 - 09:10 AM

Cheers Gowator, I managed to get the modem so now I am ready to tackle the mobo drivers. The junk I get above, I was told to ignore the NVIDIA drivers and install Alsa which I did, all it did was kill my modem which I had to again reinstall, but still no sound.

Any ideas?
I am running 2.6.3-7mdk

lspci gives me:

0:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AGP (different version?) (rev c1)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 1 (rev c1)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 4 (rev c1)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 3 (rev c1)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 2 (rev c1)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 5 (rev c1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 ISA Bridge (rev a4)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce2 SMBus (MCP) (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
00:04.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Ethernet Controller (rev a1)
00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AC97 Audio Controler (MCP) (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 External PCI Bridge (rev a3)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce2 IDE (rev a2)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AGP (rev c1)
01:06.0 Communication controller: Lucent Microelectronics 56k WinModem (rev 01)
01:0b.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
01:0d.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Lucent Microelectronics FW323 (rev 61)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] (rev a1)
**********************************

lspci -v gives me:

0:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AGP (different version?) (rev c1)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 1 (rev c1)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 4 (rev c1)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 3 (rev c1)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 2 (rev c1)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Memory Controller 5 (rev c1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 ISA Bridge (rev a4)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation nForce2 SMBus (MCP) (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller (rev a4)
00:04.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 Ethernet Controller (rev a1)
00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AC97 Audio Controler (MCP) (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 External PCI Bridge (rev a3)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation nForce2 IDE (rev a2)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce2 AGP (rev c1)
01:06.0 Communication controller: Lucent Microelectronics 56k WinModem (rev 01)
01:0b.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
01:0d.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Lucent Microelectronics FW323 (rev 61)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5200] (rev a1)
0

#9 User is offline   Gowator 

  • always learning
  • Group: Platinum
  • Posts: 5,674
  • Joined: 09-May 03

Posted 19 May 2004 - 09:22 AM

OK...

as root do an lsmod
Fere libenter homines id quod volunt credunt. (J.C. de Bello Gallico III/XVIII)

Visit my visitor site for coelaics, find out what a coelaic is even.
http://linuxmigratio....fr/glutenfree/
0

#10 User is offline   ilottl 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 16-May 04

Posted 20 May 2004 - 09:09 AM

Hi there,

LSmode as root goves me:

odule Size Used by
sg 38044 0
st 38616 0
sr_mod 17028 0
sd_mod 16832 0
scsi_mod 114648 4 sg,st,sr_mod,sd_mod
lp 12200 0
parport_pc 32832 1
parport 38952 2 lp,parport_pc
snd-seq-oss 31232 0
snd-seq-midi-event 7552 1 snd-seq-oss
snd-seq 51024 4 snd-seq-oss,snd-seq-midi-event
snd-pcm-oss 51812 1
snd-mixer-oss 17952 1 snd-pcm-oss
snd-intel8x0 32776 1
snd-ac97-codec 58148 1 snd-intel8x0
snd-pcm 93156 2 snd-pcm-oss,snd-intel8x0
snd-timer 24484 2 snd-seq,snd-pcm
gameport 4480 1 snd-intel8x0
snd-page-alloc 11972 2 snd-intel8x0,snd-pcm
snd-mpu401-uart 7072 1 snd-intel8x0
snd-rawmidi 23616 1 snd-mpu401-uart
snd-seq-device 8008 3 snd-seq-oss,snd-seq,snd-rawmidi
snd 52484 12 snd-seq-oss,snd-seq-midi-event,snd-seq,snd-pcm-oss,snd-mixer-oss,snd-intel8x0,snd-ac97-codec,snd-pcm,snd-timer,snd-mpu401-uart,snd-rawmidi,snd-seq-device
soundcore 9248 2 snd
af_packet 20520 0
hid 53312 0
ide-floppy 18752 0
ide-tape 34864 0
ide-cd 40548 0
cdrom 37184 2 sr_mod,ide-cd
floppy 59444 0
8139too 23712 0
mii 4992 1 8139too
forcedeth 14304 0
ohci1394 33956 0
ieee1394 287856 1 ohci1394
nls_iso8859-15 4480 2
ntfs 85932 2
supermount 37876 2
ltserial 6148 2
ltmodem 532560 1 ltserial
ehci-hcd 24196 0
ohci-hcd 18692 0
usbcore 99132 5 hid,ehci-hcd,ohci-hcd
rtc 11576 0
ext3 110408 1
jbd 54328 1 ext3


What this means I do not know, any ideas on what next to install the NVIDIA drivers for the motherboard?
0

#11 User is offline   kaba_desu 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-May 04

Posted 20 May 2004 - 09:45 AM

Hey dude,

Firstly I don't want to step on Gowators toes but I have a question.

Are you actually having stability issues? By stabilty I mean... does your computer randomly lock up?

I know it seems annoying to answer a lame little question, but there is a point to it.


By the way forcedeth 14304 0 from your lsmod would indicate that your install has good motherboard drivers.

This post has been edited by kaba_desu: 20 May 2004 - 10:11 AM

0

#12 User is offline   ilottl 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 16-May 04

Posted 20 May 2004 - 10:52 AM

No lockups at all. When I tried to install just the NVIDIA graphcis drivers for my card, I had a complete lockup and had to re-install, I have been going along the theory that I need to install the motherboard drivers as sound is my number 1 priority.
0

#13 User is offline   kaba_desu 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-May 04

Posted 20 May 2004 - 11:24 AM

Hmm. I have the same mobo and sound worked without a problem for me. It seems a little weird that it would be any different for you.

Do you have xmms installed? If not try:

su <enter>
urpmi xmms

let that install

then open a new shell and type:

xmms

Be sure not to use the program icon to load xmms for now. I tried to use that, it actually executes the command 'soundwrapper xmms', which didn't work for me.


I just want to know if your sound is working or not. Bare with me dude, I'm not that good at teaching.
0

#14 User is offline   jdion81 

  • frequent
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 10-November 03

Posted 20 May 2004 - 11:23 PM

I have heard of problems with the "soundwrapper xmms" thing, I believe you can remove the soundwrapper part and leave xmms and it should work fine.
0

#15 User is offline   kaba_desu 

  • New Here
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: 18-May 04

Posted 21 May 2004 - 12:31 AM

yeah,
I'm so used to using the command line for running apps I don't even know why I bothered to use the button.Though having said that my partner is going to be using this too so I guess I'd better make sure things work for her!!
0

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users