Mandrake 10.0 ****** up my HD

aze

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey! im a linux newbie but not a HD newbie! I use custom partition and format tools and have experience with HDs. If my HD was a sansung I'd buy a new with no problem but its a 7200rpm 80gb maxtor. now i'll need to back up 80gb and say to the vendor: "This hd isnt good because mandrake ****** up its mbr! Change it for me pls"

I never heard something like that on other distros...

For me, a software that damages the hardware is a virus!

mandrake is a virus!

mandrake is a virus!

mandrake is a virus!

Dude, read the Mandrake Bugzilla entry and you knew it is a Kernel 2.6 related new issue.

http://qa.mandrakesoft.com/show_bug.cgi?id=7959#c21

Many of ocilent1's suggestion are solid and you can try and see if you can resolve the issue. According to many posters at LinuxQuestions, many of them found their ways to solve the problem.

I still believe the problem is fixable, unless you have an unlucky coincident harddrive failure on your own.

Edited by zero0w

You may have gotten a bad hard drive.(it happens- Maxtor or Western Digital) Contact Maxtor and ask them to replace the drive. They may give you the run around, but if it's less that a year old your warranty is still good. They should give you a RMA number and have you send them the old drive, you may be able to get your retailer to help you. Good Luck, I know how frustrating it is to have a drive fail.

For those of you still interested, there's a butload of new updates for mdk10, one in particular for hardrake which addresses the winxp boot problem:

o fix "xp does not boot anymore" (#7302, #7959, #8891)

o add --change-geometry=<device>=[<cylinders>,]<heads>,<sectors> option in order to allow forcing the geometry used in the partition table. This allows helping poor Windows booting using old int13 function 2.  This should work when Windows has not been resized.

- drakclock: fix server lookup (#8846)