MythTV or Freevo?

sitor

Hi,

My brother just moved out of our parents house to live alone. I advised not to buy a Tele, HIFI, VCR, DVD player, etc. but to buy a well equiped PC. Purpose would be to make it into a multimedia center with capabilities of jukebox, TV, Radio, VCR, DVD player, DIVX player, etc.

I proposed him to installed Mandrake on the box (my brother has no Linux knowledge at all, and though I'm still a newbie, I'm fan enough to try to convert him as well :cheesy: ).

I googled some to find info on how to do this, and found Freevo and MythTV are projects that might help us. I have a lot of questions remaining though, so I was hoping some of you guys might have some answers:

1. Which of the two is the most mature?

2. I found some rpms for MythTV (as I said, I'm a newbie, so I want start with kernel recompiling and stuff), but not for Freevo. Does anyone know rpms that work on Mandrake 9.2.

3. Could I install both at the same time, so that we can try them both?

4. I heard that the XMLTV way of working would be a very USA centered thing, and that it would not really work that well in Europe. Anyone in Europe who has experience with that?

5. Anyone that has experience with the Belgian XMLTV grabber (seems to be bèta for the moment)?

6. That grabbing with XMLTV is apparently organised per country. Does it work with any cable provider, etc. Will it work in both parts of the country (French and Dutch)?

7. A machine that should be used as such a multimedia center should boot very fast. My own Mandrake machine does this in 70 secs, which is way too much for this. Any tips on how this can be done (it should still be possible to be used as a normal PC and for accessing the net via ADSL)?

8. Apparently it is possible to control such a box with a remote using LIRC. Can you then use the remote to switch the box on as well?