Alternative distribution [solved]

Hi all! It’s been a while :)

I have been using Mandriva for 12 years now. But it seems this time has come to an end, although latest (2011) is good (I installed it on 3 coworkers’ PCs :) already).

Now, I want to use Gnome 3, and it is not part of the new Mandriva… So what would you recommend?

I want:

— repositories with dependency management (like urpmi) and broad choice;

— a good balance of stability and recent software, among which must be Gnome 3;

— multi-users (most distro are);

— a possibility to setup a newbie-friendly desktop session for some users;

— adequate performance.

I tried tinycore but there is no Gnome 3, and setting things up is a pain (for example: by default, pavucontrol does not find the PA daemon, although both pulseaudio and dbus are installed “on-bootâ€).

I’m thinking about trying Arch Linux. Is it a good choice?

Yves.

Edited by theYinYeti

Fedora 15 uses Gnome 3 by default. Not sure why you would want it (Gnome 3) though... :P

I use Fedora 15 some and it seems ok. I prefer booting into Classic Gnome with Compiz (a login option) instead of the Gnome 3 shell.

I want to give Arch a try myself. I will once I get some time to devote to it and when am not tied to a cellular internet connection as I am at the moment.

Good evening!

Actually, I find that Mandriva’s decisions are rather sensible. They can’t afford to do everything in their financial situation, so they only do what they do best. Nice. But not to my own taste…

I tried Arch Linux today. I had a bit of a rough start due to my ATI card (and me not knowing pacman at all), but once I got that working, I rather liked what I saw:

— Arch Linux is actually great! Simple and well-documented, up-to-date, with a broad choice of software. You have to know your way with Linux and the command line, though, which is my case ;-)

— I liked Gnome 3 a lot! I cannot wait to overwrite my current Mandriva with a fresh Arch Linux install.