Is Mandrivausers dead?

banjo

I have noticed a dropoff in activity on the forum since Mandriva was sold. I seems that this used to be a much more active forum. Did everybody run off to Mageia? The Mandriva forum? Another distro?

I have been running Mandriva (Mandrake) since 2003 and have had good luck with it. But that was partly because of the support supplied by this forum. If the community has dried up, I might look elsewhere for my next upgrade. I have been reading up on Ubuntu. All of the ubuntu forums seem to be quite active.

I'm not trying to start an argument, I just am wondering what is going on with all the fine folks that used to populate this forum.

Suggestions? Ideas? Dopeslaps? :o

Thanks,

Banjo

(_)=='=~

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Don't think one can say "MandrivaUsers-forum" is dead, no.

But i can tell, activity has been greater in former periods.

Same thing is happening to the Mandriva-forum, especially the English part of it.

And also the Mandrivaclub.nl-forum, in my own country, experiences a drop-down.

For where it concerns Mageia, this distribution does not have a forum yet.

Topics are set up for Mageia in the aforementioned forums, and are neither over-populated.

On the other hand, one could say, all Mandriva-users are quite satisfied with their distribution, and don't have reasons to visit.

But your idea about changes of population since the overtake of Mandriva S.A., i also could second.

Let's hope for the best, and maybe the introduction of Mandriva 2011, later in the year, will spark things up.

Edit: Mageia has a mailing-list-forum.

Edited by isadora