saving film from a livestream

Kieth

Often streams can be saved using xine or mplayer. I don't know if it's possible to view and save simultaneously with mplayer but xine can do it. I was not able to view your suggested example media, however I was able to view a short video at http://livestream.rai.it.edgestreams.net/ which said "Sorry, this content is reserved to the users in the Italian country".

Before saving with xine be sure to configure the directory for saving streams, you will find that in xine's settings menu; Settings/Setup/Media.

Using xine:

xine mmsh://livestream.rai.it.edgestreams.net/#save:edgestream.wmv

if you prefer to save without viewing or listening use:

xine --hide-gui --hide-video mmsh://livestream.rai.it.edgestreams.net#save:edgestream.wmv\;noaudio\;novideo

Using mplayer:

mplayer mmsh://livestream.rai.it.edgestreams.net/ -dumpstream -dumpfile stream.wmv

edit:

I just noticed two packages that are supposed to save streams, however I have no experience with them. They are mms_client and mmsrip.

Edited by boatman9

Sometimes the media stream URL is hidden in a web page or something. In some cases I've used Wireshark to find the correct URL. Don't hesitate to ask for help if you need it. Mostly I'm just asking questions on this board, it's nice to be able to answer some questions as well!